One Dish, Two Spoons: Tofu (Pineapple) Cashew Curry

11 Nov

In this “segment”, we will both be making the *same* recipe, but cooking it two different ways and reviewing the results.

Our first recipe comes to you from the pages of Clean Eating MagazinePineapple Curry Tofu

Jess’ Take

So let me just start this off by saying this: I really hate long ingredient lists on recipes. There, I said it.

Seriously, every time I take on a recipe that rivals the great wall of China, I either forget to pick up 1 or 2 (or 5) of the ingredients or get distracted halfway through and go a completely different route.  So when Tess proposed this recipe for our first ever One Dish, 2 Spoons segment, I took one look at the ingredient list and realized that was just NOT going to happen.

But, that’s the fun about this segment; we have no rules, just so long as we put our own spin on the same type of dish.  And on that note, I give you mine.

Curried Tofu and Cashew Wraps

To be fair, I only received the ingredient list and the name of the recipe, no real directions so I had a pretty free reign on this one.

Here is the list of ingredients Tess sent me:

1/4c whole wheat flour
2 tsp curry powder
1 pkg firm tofu, cubed
1 tbs coconut oil
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
8 oz fresh pineapple, chopped
14 oz diced tomato
3 tbs currants or raisins
2 tsp Asian hot sauce
1 3/4 cup light coconut milk
1 tsp tapioca flour (or cornstarch)
1/3 cup cilantro, chopped
2 tbs lime juice
1/3 cup cashews, coarsely chopped

Obviously, this is a pretty saucy curry dish that does not cater to a wrap so I made some adjustments, simplified the ingredient list and toned it down on the liquids.

I started with a flavour base of onion, garlic, garam masala, cumin, chili powder and tomato paste

Tossed in my tofu, then added in ½ cup of lite coconut milk to give it a nice creamy texture.  Then added in green peppers, currents and cashews and let it simmer for a few minutes.

And within 35 minutes I had a flavorful and delicious filling perfect for some whole wheat wraps that I served up with a mixed green salad.

One word: heaven.

Ingredients:

1 tbsp earth balance or other vegan butter

1 tbsp canola oil

1 tbsp garam masala

1 tsp cumin

¼ tsp chili powder

1 small onion, diced

1 large clove of garlic, minced

2 tbsp tomato paste

1 package firm tofu, cubed

½ c. lite coconut milk

1 green pepper diced

3 tbsp black currents

1/3 cup cashews

Directions:

In a large frying pan heat butter and oil over medium high heat then add in the onion and garlic.

Cook it for 1-2 minutes until onion is slightly softened and then add in your spices.

Cook the mixture for 2-3 minutes until fragrant and it turns a nice dark golden colour, then add in your tomato paste.

Keep cooking for about 5 minutes to let it heat through to allow it develop a smoky flavour before adding your other ingredients

First add in your tofu and let it cook for about 3-5 minutes, then add in your coconut milk, green peppers, cashews and currents.

Cook for another 5 minutes and then serve either over rice or in a wrap like I did.

Bon Appetit!

-Jess

Tess’ Take

**Jess, I would have sent you the directions, but in your mad curry frenzy, you made the dish before I even had a chance!!  😛

I, unlike Jess, follow the directions on recipes to the letter.  I try not to deviate as much as possible a) because I figure the chef had a reason for creating the recipe the way he/she did, and b) I’m not a confident or creative enough cook to deviate from recipes too much.

With that said, here are the ingredients for the Clean Eating version of this recipe:

1/4c whole wheat flour
2 tsp curry powder
1 pkg firm tofu, cubed
1 tbs coconut oil
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
8 oz fresh pineapple, chopped
14 oz diced tomato
3 tbs currants or raisins
2 tsp Asian hot sauce
1 3/4 cup light coconut milk
1 tsp tapioca flour (or cornstarch)
1/3 cup cilantro, chopped
2 tbs lime juice
1/3 cup cashews, coarsely chopped

Directions:

1. Mix flour and 1 tsp curry powder.  Toss in the tofu to coat.

2. In a large skillet, heat 1/2 tbs coconut oil over medium-high and add tofu.  Cook until lightly crisp on all sides (5 min).  Set tofu aside.

3. Reduce heat to medium and add remaining oil, bell peppers, onion, and garlic to skillet.  Cook until tender (3 min).

4.  Add in pineapple, tomato, currants, 1 tsp curry powder, and hot sauce.  Bring to a boil.  Return tofu to skillet and reduce heat to simmer.  Cover and cook for 10 min.

5. In a separate bowl, whisk together coconut milk and tapioca flour.  Stir into skillet and cook until thick and bubbly.  Reduce heat to low and cook another 2 mins.

6. Stir in lime juice.

7. Serve with cilantro and cashews on top.

I served this dish on a bed of couscous

Really, this segment should be called “One Dish, Two Spoons, and a Fork” since John’s feedback will often be added to my section lol.  We both really liked this recipe, though John was a bit sad that there was no meat.  Hey, when we first met he wouldn’t even touch tofu, so this is Prooo-Gressss!  The pineapple was a really nice addition, as were the raisins.  I think if I were to make it again I’d add more hot sauce (I like it spicy!!!) and pineapple, since it really was the star of the show.  I’m also pretty sure this would taste amazing with regular (non-light) coconut milk, but I’ve gotta watch John’s figure 😉

Enjoy!

-Tess

Leave a Reply

