Café Juicy Lotus: a Jess staple

13 Nov

There are days when I just don’t feel like cooking.  Today was one of those days.

I was invited by a friend to go to a CFL game which was something I had yet to do in Montreal, or ever for that matter.  This is partially because I have zero interest in football, and partially because, well, I have zero interest in football.  But it turned out to be a pretty fun experience and any event that involves cold beer and salty pretzels is a good one in my books.

Note to self: do a pretzel recipe for a future blog post.

Anyway, while the game was fun, it also pretty much took up my entire Sunday.  By the time I got back home the last thing I really felt like doing was cook dinner.

Luckily for me, I have an awesome and healthy alternative close to my apartment.

Café Juicy Lotus has quickly become my go-to option for the days when I either have zero time or zero motivation to cook and my fridge resembles something out of a Dickens’ novel.

A vegetarian take-out café situated in the Monkland Village of Montreal, Juicy Lotus caters to the health-minded consumer with tons of dairy, soy and even gluten-free meals, desserts, sauces, soups and salads.   I’ve yet to try something I didn’t like and I’ve become ever-so slightly addicted to their stuffed vine-leaves.  Words cannot describe how delicious they are with hearty brown rice stuffing and doused in a tangy-yet-spicy vinaigrette.   I get these pretty every time I walk in there, and tonight was no different.

Considering the not-so-healthy food choices I made today, I decided to keep things simple and veggie-based as much as possible with some vine leaves and a spinach salad.

Hellooo healthy take-out!

The spinach salad was chock-full of fresh veggies including cucumber, bell pepper and sprouts; I’d never had it before and would definitely recommend it.

The staff is super friendly and helpful as you try and navigate through their many daily options and owner Jessica Watters can often be seen behind the counter interacting with her regulars and encouraging you to try something different.

If ever you find yourself in the Monkland Village I really recommend you stop in for lunch or an early dinner, you will not regret it.

-Jess

Leave a Reply

