Squash and Lentil Curry Soup

15 Nov

Is there really anything more comforting than soup?

Today was one of those blustery cool, damp, November days- the kind where, if I wasn’t gainfully employed, I would consider parking myself on the couch with a cup of tea and a good book.  Alas, such is not the case and I had to drag my sorry self off to work for the day.  Even though I managed to crank out a good run during my lunch break, I went home craving warmth and comfort.  Cue the soup.

Soup is one of those fickle meals for me, I really have to be in the mood for it or else I’m just not interested.  But, if I do have it, I insist on making it from scratch because to me canned soups:

a) Pack way too much sodium and

b) Are completely overpriced when you consider price to ratio

Plus soup is such an easy and usually 1 pot meal to make, and the recipe I’m about to show you definitely fulfills that requirement.

The ginger and curry pair nicely with butternut squash giving it a new dimension than your traditional squash soup.  It’s perfect for those cold and damp days- or as a first course for Thanksgiving for my American friends 😉

Ingredients:

2 tbsp earth balance

2 tbsp canola oil

1 onion, thinly sliced

1 large garlic clove, minced

¼ c. fresh ginger, thinly sliced

2 tbsp curry paste

1 x medium Butternut squash, peeled, seeded, cubed

1 c. dry red lentils

5 c. vegetable stock

1 x can lite coconut milk

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat oil and butter over medium heat in a large pot and add in your onions, season with salt and pepper then sauté for 3-5 minutes until softened and fragrant.

Add in ginger and garlic, cook for an additional 2-3 minutes and then add in the curry paste.  Stir thoroughly to allow the flavours to come together.

Toss in squash and mix with onion mixture before pouring stock or water. Add in your lentils, stir and cover.

Allow soup to come to a simmer and cook until squash is tender before adding in your coconut milk.

After you’ve added the milk heat through for an additional 5 minutes and then remove from heat.

Blend soup either using an immersion blender or using a blender but adding in small amounts at a time.

Serve and enjoy!

– Jess

Leave a Reply

