Baby Got (To Get More) Back!

16 Nov

I know what you’re going to say: “but Tess, your booty is already pretty dang big….”  and you would be right – it is!  But it’s not muscle that makes my hamstrings and gluteus big – it’s fat!  That’s because like most women, I carry the majority of my fat in my hips and thighs.  It’s ok though – men carry most of their fat in their midsections, so I think I’ll stick with what I’ve got.

I have yet to be lean enough to see separation in my gluteus and hamstrings, and when I do finally get to that point, I want to have nice round muscles to show off!  That’s why I’m training legs twice a week, with one of those days especially devoted to building up the backs of my legs.

I want to go from this….

…..to this

See the difference?

Here’s my self-made program:

Notes Exercise Sets Reps
Straight Set Leg Curls 3 12, 10, 8
Superset *1 1/2 Smith Machine Squats 4 12-15
Weighted Hip Thrusts 4 10-12
Straight Set Leg Curls 3 12, 10, 8
Superset **Leg Press 4 15-20
Straight-Leg Deadlifts 4 10-12
Straight Set Leg Curls 3 12, 10, 8
Superset Abductor Machine 3 10-12
Cable Glute Kickbacks 3 12-15 per leg
Straight Set Single Leg Calf Raise 4 max
***Calf Raise Machine 4 max

*When doing squats on a smith machine come up half-way, pause, then squat back down and complete movement as usual.  That’s one rep.  Use a slow and controlled motion.

**Place feet high and close together, and only extend legs 70% (so keeping a slight bend in the knees).  Bring knees as close to chest as possible and focus on the lower half of the movement.

***For a more complete calf workout, I like to change my foot position (toes pointed in vs. toes out vs. straight ahead, feet close together vs. far apart, toes only on the machine vs. half of foot) so that I hit them from a variety of angles.

So that’s what my legs have been up to lately lol.  If there are any trainers/competitors/experts reading this, I’d love your feedback!

-Tess

3 Responses to “Baby Got (To Get More) Back!”

  1. getfitwithles November 16, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Amazing workout Tess!! Good luck with that! I am going to try it sometime!!!

  2. Tenecia November 19, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    I’m right there with you! I need to “round out” my glutes during my off-season. I thought just wishing my backside looked like Erin Stern’s was enough but alas, I actually have to work for it 🙂

    T.

    • Tess and Jess November 19, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      (Tess) Tenicia: Me too. And I’m not one of those genetically lucky girls who has an easy time of it either. Leg days need to be borderline torturous for me to get any kind of progress whatsoever 😦

Leave a Reply

