Peace and Kale Salad

20 Nov

Let me preface this by stating that I am, without a doubt, a city girl.  Growing up in the suburbs and then spending four years studying for my undergrad in a tiny town in the middle of nowhere really made me realize that.  Nothing makes me happier than the fast-pace and anonymity of city living.

However, every once in a while I get urge to get out of the city to unwind and chill out.  Lucky for me I have the perfect escape hatch.

Whenever the pace of the city or my work schedule gets a bit much I’ll hop in the car and visit my parents’ cottage for the day.  Situated a mere hour and twenty minutes outside of Montreal, the cottage is located in the beautiful Eastern Townships of Quebec where I’m surrounded by mountains, farmlands and the cutest pond known to mankind.

When I pulled up in the morning, I was super excited to see snow on the ground!  Montreal weather has been milder than normal so it was nice to see signs of winter.

This didn’t last long as it warmed up soon after and I decided to take advantage of the sunshine and headed out for a nice run along the country roads.

This was taken at Thanksgiving

Running in the crisp country air felt amazing- until I was downwind from a farm.  I’m pretty sure inhaling the scent of that much manure is a health hazard. See what I mean- city girl!

Anyway, post run I was pretty hungry, but luckily for me I’d brought along some food and decided to play in my Mom’s kitchen before heading back to the city.   Why is it that Mom’s kitchen will always be neater and much more organized than your own, no matter how hard you try?

One of the items I’d brought along with me was a huge bunch of kale that I decided to put to good use.  Using some staple pantry items I managed to put together a delicious warm kale salad featuring a sweet and sour mustard vinaigrette.

+

=

This salad was to-die-for and I really recommend you try it out stat.

You will need:

1 tbsp olive oil

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 bunch of kale, stems removed, torn into bit-sized pieces

Vinaigrette

1 tbsp honey mustard

1 tbsp Tarragon white wine vinegar (you could also use regular white wine vinegar)

3 tbsp Olive oil

Directions

In a small bowl, whisk the vinaigrette ingredients together, set aside

In a large frying pan, heat olive oil over medium high heat, add garlic and sauté until fragrant- about 30 seconds. Add in your Kale and cook until softened, about 2-3 minutes and then add in your vinaigrette. Note: I didn’t use the whole amount of dressing, only 2 tbsp’s.

Remove from heat, and mix kale with vinaigrette to thoroughly combine.

Season with salt and pepper, serve and enjoy!

This was the perfect ending to a perfect day.  Now I’m refreshed, recharged and ready for another week!

-Jess

Leave a Reply

