Hummus Freak

29 Nov

If I was able to plan my last meal on earth it would have to include hummus… and chocolate, and bread, and wine, and… I’m getting off track.

As much as I love carbs, hummus also holds a special place in my heart. To me, it is the perfect condiment- dressing, spread, dip, it does them all and don’t even get me started on flavour variations.  Garam Masala Hummus, anyone?

Clearly, I am not alone in this obsession.  In 1995, hummus was a $5 million industry, today Hummus sales top $350 million in the US.  Suffice to say, this Middle-Eastern gem has taken up a mainstream place in the grocery aisles and refrigerators of North Americans alike.  We love hummus and food companies have jumped on the bandwagon to make sure we get our tahini-filled fix.

source

While I’m not one to balk at putting my hard-earned money towards quality (and healthy) food items, I find it hard to reach for my wallet and pay the upwards of $5 every time I crave hummus.  When you see how cheap chickpeas are, it’s hard to justify that cost. This is why more often than not, I’ll make my own, and by that I mean once a week.

Making your own hummus is an extremely quick and painless process- so long as you have a food processor anyway.  If you don’t own a food processor, well Christmas is less than a month away.  Maybe write to good ol’ Santa and tell him I told you to ask for one so you can make this hummus.

Though I have many hummus variations in my culinary repertoire, I decided to start things off with the basic recipe.   Master the basics and then move on to the fancy stuff.

You will need:

Chickpeas; if you’re Martha Stewart go ahead and soak and boil them, otherwise buy a can but make sure it’s the no salt added variety- drain and rinse.

1 clove of garlic, roughly chopped

Juice from 1 lemon

¼ c. Tahini paste

2 tbsp water

1 tbsp olive oil

¼ tsp sea salt

Directions:

Put all the ingredients into the food processor:

Pulse until smooth. You may have to scrape and pulse a few times until you get it to the right consistency.

Taste and adjust seasonings.

Refrain from eating it by the spoonful out of the processor bowl

Enjoy!

-Jess

4 Responses to “Hummus Freak”

  1. Tess and Jess November 30, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    (Tess) I had no idea it was this easy! Is Tahini paste the same as Tahini the nut butter?

    • Tess and Jess November 30, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      (Jess) Dude, why do you think I’m always making hummus? haha
      Yeah, the Tahini paste is the “Tahini butter” you see in grocery stores, which is essentially ground sesame seeds.

  2. 3momsmeals January 17, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    (Laura) I yelled at the man at the grocery store here once because he didn’t know what Tahini was in French … I’ve never put sea salt in though, will have to try this… I did buy two cans of chick peas yesterday… going to try this recipe tomorrow!!!

    • Tess and Jess January 18, 2012 at 8:59 am #

      (Jess)- haha Laura, I hope you didn’t scare him? I hope the recipe works out- let me know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

