2012 Competition Plans

30 Nov

The IDFA’s 2012 competition schedule went up the other day, and after talking it over with my nutritionist I’ve decided that my next fitness/figure competition will be in Montreal on March 31st.  That gives me 17.5 weeks to cut down, which should be plenty of time!  Diet-wise: The plan for now is to clean up my diet (no junk) with one cheat meal per week, and I’ll start full-out dieting at the beginning of January.  Workout-wise: This week I’m doing a ton of circuits and plyometrics to kind of shock my system and get me going, then after that I’ll switch to a hypertrophy (muscle building) phase for 4-6 weeks.

After the March show, I really really really want to run a 10k race!  The Ottawa Race Weekend is held at the end of May, so that’ll give me plenty of time to gear up for it (I’m not hoping to win, I just want to finish under 60 minutes).  The only thing I’ll have to worry about are my recurring leg fractures, so I’ve gotta take it nice and easy building up.

Finally, I want to do one more show this year in Toronto.  I promised my mom that I’ll do a show in Toronto so she can come see me compete.  There are two in Toronto – one in July, and one in November.  I’m not sure which I’ll end up doing, as this’ll mostly depend on how I’m feeling around April.

It looks as though 2012 is going to be a busy year!  I’d better get crack-a-lackin’!

-Tess

8 Responses to “2012 Competition Plans”

  1. Tess and Jess November 30, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    (Jess) YES! You’re coming to Montreal! This means I can make your celebration meal 🙂

    • Melanie Elliott December 1, 2011 at 11:53 am #

      I may have to make the trip to Montreal again if ya’ll are gonna be there! 🙂 Plus I’d love to see you compete! 🙂 Depends on some of my health stuff happening around that time, but for now I’m going to start planning! 🙂

      • Tess and Jess December 1, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

        (Tess) Health stuff? Are you ok??

  2. getfitwithles November 30, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Awesome Tess! I am planning my events as well….I want to do the Around the Bay race in Hamilton on March 27 2012, and then we will see what happens after that 🙂 I totally want you to do the 10km race during Ottawa Race Weekend! YOU WILL LOVE IT! Good luck to you and your training for your next show!!! Is your nose feeling better??

    • Tess and Jess November 30, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

      (Tess) Haha Leslie – I was literally feeling my nose as I read your post! It’s swollen, but not discolored. I’m definitely going to have to ask you and Jess for tips about my running 😉

      Jess – I knew you’d like that!

      • Tess and Jess December 1, 2011 at 10:29 am #

        (Jess)- I hope you end up doing the 10k with me @ Ottawa too! That would be awesome 🙂

  3. melissa cunningham December 1, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    yay for 2012 plans!!!!
    and yay for 10ks!!!!
    😀
    you can do it!!

Leave a Reply

