December Run Challenge

1 Dec

A few days ago, some friends mine who are the organizers of the Dirty Feet Trail Series sent me an event invite via Facebook.  Not your normal “Holiday Get Together” this event involved exercise, and by exercise I don’t mean how many wine-glass curls you can do in an evening.

No, this event was of the 31 day challenge variety, the Dirty Feet December Run Challenge to be precise.   By joining, I will commit to run at least 1 mile per day, every day, throughout the month of December.  To be quite honest I’m not usually your 30 (or 31) day challenge kind of girl, for a couple of reasons:

1)      Repetition- doing the same exercise for 31 days straight just seems BORING. I mean, come ON doing the same thing over and over again would make me hate it. Fast.

2)      Location- due to my job, friends, life, etc… I am rarely home for 31 days straight so I’ve never been able to commit to something like a 31 day hot-yoga challenge even though I’ve always kind of wanted to.

However, I am happy to say that I have committed to this challenge.  While I do realize this directly conflicts with my first objection, I am justifying it by the fact that I love to run. Plus, due to my undying hatred for the treadmill and the reality that it’s December, I’m going to be forced to run outside in increasingly unpleasant conditions such as rain, sleet, snow, etc… So this really WILL be a challenge for me.   Not to mention, with a bit of planning I can run anywhere regardless of where I am- be it at home visiting my family, out of town with friends, or up at the cottage.

Over the next 30 days I’ll be posting an “update” at the end of my posts so you can all keep me accountable for this one.  If it’s a really crappy day, I’ll make sure to whine about it incessantly. Kidding! Well, not really…

Oh and I’m going to put out the invitation to all of you to join me in this challenge- even if you’re not a runner. Running a mile a day is a great way to get in some exercise and help you stay balanced in the indulgent month of December 🙂

For more details on this challenge- check out http://www.facebook.com/events/186415878114133/

____

Day 1: I decided to kick things off on a high note by running in my favorite park on my lunch break.  The temperature was hovering between 0 and -1 C, so I  made sure to wear some layers and gloves to keep me warm.  I ended up completing 3.7 miles in about 31:00 minutes. Not bad.  We’ll see how tomorrow goes!

1 day down, 30 more to go!

-Jess

8 Responses to “December Run Challenge”

  1. phil December 1, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    Awesome job Jess.

    • Tess and Jess December 1, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

      (Jess) Thanks Phil! Congrats to you and Grace for putting on such a fun challenge during the holidays.

  2. Tess and Jess December 1, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    (Tess) I think this should be like a credit/debit system where if you log more miles one day, you can not run the next day 😉 lol Guess that defeats the purpose of the challenge though, huh?

    • Tess and Jess December 1, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      (Jess) haha yes, it was explicitly stated in the rules that I cannot “bank” miles. I can run more than mile if I want to, but it has to be at least 1 mile per day.

    • phil hiom December 2, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

      Nice try Tess! Doing 31 miles in a month would be easy if you could bank miles. The challenge is the fact that it’s everyday. It is lots of fun to see all the questions and justifications for why skiiing, cycling, banking miles all should be allowed. Jess have fun with the challenge and I will check back to see how it is going.

  3. Robert Rish December 1, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Jess, run an extra mile for me tomorrow… I could use losing a few pounds 😉

    • Tess and Jess December 2, 2011 at 8:53 am #

      (Jess)- Rob, ran 1.6 miles this AM, we’ll see how many I can run tomorrow haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 1 December Run Challenge - December 8, 2011

    […] We have people that are running way more than the mile a day, others that are doing most if not all of it indoors out of the elements. We have had lots of pictures posted by people on the Facebook page showing themselves on the run or just pictures of where they are running. This is why we have gone to a couple of our key local sponsors and asked them to join in by giving us some prizes for you guys that are commenting and actively letting us know how your runs are going. Last weeks prize was a North Face Water Bottle and Beanie. This weeks prize from Runners Sole is a $25 gift certificate. All we ask is that you keep running and keep telling us about it. The best way to make sure you keep doing something is to tell people about it.  If you want to check out a blog from one person in Kelowna who is doing the challenge here is her blog. There is also somebody out east who is doing the challenge and has written about it on her blog. […]

Leave a Reply

