1 Dish, 2 Spoons: Green Monsters

2 Dec

Don’t worry, they’re not as scary as they sound!

Sometimes in the morning we just don’t have time to mess around with breakfast.  No, that does not mean that we SKIP breakfast altogether… heavens no!  Haven’t you heard that breakfast is the most important meal of the day?  Not to mention we are both incredibly grumpy people when hungry.  So on days where time is in low supply, we turn to smoothies.  They’re quick, tasty, transportable, and it’s easy to fit all of your nutritional requirements into one glass…. or bowl, or mug, or you can drink directly from the blender.  Hey, we’re not here to judge.

The key to Green Monsters is: spinach.  Yes, you heard right.  Your initial reaction may be a mixture of disgust and curiosity, but believe us, the result will surprise you!  Spinach has a very mild flavor and when mixed with other ingredients is completely disguised.  It also breaks down very easily, so a couple extra seconds in the blender is all you need to make it “liquify”.  We can’t take credit for the clever name – that’s all Angela.  But we will take credit for these recipes, which we hope you’ll enjoy 🙂

Jess’ Take:

I’ve been making Green Smoothies for the better part of 2.5 years now as they’re a great addition to my breakfast routine. I’ll be the first to admit that for my first attempt at it, I barely put in ANY spinach.  The idea of putting lettuce greens in with my smoothie totally grossed me out.  However, after that fateful initial attempt, I realized that you really don’t taste the spinach at all, and I like the idea of knowing I’ve started my day off with some healthy greens to up my veggie intake for the day.

My green smoothies, while I will throw in some variations now and then pretty much use this formula:

Non-Dairy Milk, Orange Juice, Spinach, Banana, Frozen Fruit and ground flax seed

I’m not really big on protein powders- mainly for their taste and texture but I like adding in the flax seeds (or at times Chia seeds) to give me a boost in fiber and Omega-3.   Just remember to grind it up first so your body can absorb the nutrients properly.

My smoothie this morning consisted of:

1 c. fortified vanilla soy milk

¼ c. Orange Juice

1 banana

1/3 c. frozen berries

2 big handfuls of spinach

1 tbsp ground flax seed

Unfortunately my camera died before I could take a pretty picture, but this was the epitome of good morning following an early 1.6 mile run for my December Run Challenge!

Note: I am NOT a morning person, so getting up at 6am to run was the biggest part of my challenge this morning.

To complement my smoothie I had 2 pieces of whole grain toast with almond butter to give me a carb/protein boost.

Tess’ Take

My breakfasts always need to meet a certain criteria; they need to include 1 serving of protein, 1 carb, 1 fat, and 1 vegetable.  Sometimes I’ll throw a fruit in there too.  This is the basis for my recipe today.

Ingredients

-2 handfulls baby spinach (vegetable)

-1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder (protein)

-4 egg whites (protein)

-1/2 banana (fruit)

-1 cup unsweetened almond milk

-cinnamon, stevia, and vanilla to taste

-ice (if desired)

*Calories = 235

Directions: Blend until smooth.  Drink.


You’ll notice I didn’t have a carb or fat in my smoothie, so I had some oatmeal with nuts on the side.  But, if you wanted to get it all in there you could always throw in some wheat germ and flax seed oil, or experiment with sweet potato (either mashed or baby food) and peanut butter.

TGIF everybody!

-Tess

One Response to “1 Dish, 2 Spoons: Green Monsters”

  1. Kristina December 2, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    I’m all about the smoothies too! And I love Angela’s blog, too. Her writing is so inspiring. Tess, I’m so glad you included a pic of the protein powder you use, because I use the same one! (I bought the unflavoured though.) I was actually going to suggest you do a post on protein powders a little while back, because there are so many out there, how’s a woman to choose? Looks like I picked a good one since fitness guru Tess uses the same one 🙂

Leave a Reply

