All Greens Goodness

7 Dec

One of my FAVOURITE snacks these days is a protein/greens powder shake.  It’s super easy to make and it fills my requirements for a serving of protein and veggies all in one glass.  Come to think of it, I guess it’s basically just another version of our Green Monsters 🙂

Ingredients:

-1 scoop Greens powder.  I use the berry flavoured All Greens.

-1 scoop vanilla protein powder of choice (whey, casein, rice, hemp, etc.)   Note: a fruit-flavoured protein would probably work well here too

-Stevia to taste

-Water

Mix and enjoy taking comfort in the fact that you’re feeding your body an entire serving of vegetables and protein.

If you’ve never heard of or tried any kind of powdered greens, I highly recommend it!  The colour resembled mud and I won’t lie – the taste takes some getting used to (especially if the one you’re trying isn’t a fruity flavor) However, the benefits are undeniable.   Many people claim to experience a boost of energy after drinking them, and of course you can’t argue the convenience of getting an entire serving of vegetables in one glass.  Especially because I KNOW that some of you out there are struggling to get in your full 7-10 daily servings 😉    You can mix your greens powder with water, milk, juice, or yogurt.  Or how about adding a scoop to your next smoothie to give you an extra boost of antioxidants and vitamins?

-Tess

4 Responses to “All Greens Goodness”

  1. 3momsmeals December 7, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Entire serving? I’m such a ‘health noob’ haha how many apples would I need to eat to get a serving, and avoid mud water? 😉 Is there a way to disguise it? Mix it into 100 percent pure apple juice perhaps?
    Laura

    • Tess and Jess December 7, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

      (Tess) Well 1 apple is a whole serving, but this stuff will give you a more well-rounded dose of vitamins and minerals. And it’s lower in calories 😉 If you add it to your juice I don’t think you’ll taste it too much. You’ll just have to try and let me know!!

  2. A Fine balance December 8, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Looks Delish and satisfying!

    I thinking I’ll have to put all greens on my wish list for Christmas ;p

    • Tess and Jess December 8, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      (Tess) How goes your battle with fibrous veggies?

Leave a Reply

