Do You Suffer From Excusitis?

12 Dec

If your answer to this question is “It’s not that I make excuses, it’s just that I…….” followed by an EXCUSE, then you probably suffer from excusitis, or “failure disease”.

It may not surprise you to hear that most of my conversations with people turn towards fitness at some point.  What always surprises me though is that the people who neglect their fitness always seem to feel the need to justify themselves to me.  The thing is, these “validations” are actually just long-winded excuses.

The most common excuses I hear are:

-I don’t have the time to prepare my meals

-I don’t have time to work out

-I can’t afford a gym membership or healthy food

-I don’t have enough energy/I’m too tired after work

-I don’t know anything about healthy diet or exercise

-I’m not motivated enough

-I have injuries

-I have kids

-I can’t stick to my diet because my friend/family is cooking for me

-I can’t exercise because I’m going on vacation

Why do we make excuses?  Well, because we’re embarrassed and we want to feel that someone else can relate to our shortcomings; we want to save face.

The problem though with constantly making excuses is that over time they become ingrained in our subconscious, eventually becoming deeply embedded beliefs about ourselves.  (This is true, by the way, to any repetitive thought pattern, be it positive or negative: “We are what we think about most of the time” – Brian Tracy.)  So constantly saying things like “I can’t because”, “I won’t because”, “I don’t because” will definitely have an effect on how you perceive yourself and your limitations.

 “The more successful the individual, the less inclined he is to make excuses.”

 The best treatment for excusitis is to take responsibility for your behaviours and decisions; change your thought patterns and avoid making excuses in the first place!  When was the last time you got real with yourself?  I don’t mean you need to tear yourself down, but everybody, every now and then, should take a good honest look at themselves and their behaviours and recognize all the good and bad of it.

Do you tell yourself it’s ok to cheat on your diet because this is a special occasion?  Or because you skipped breakfast?  Do you tell yourself you don’t have to go to the gym because you spent two hours walking around the mall?  Or because once a week is probably good enough?  Are you honestly reaching the goals you set out for yourself?  Or have you cut yourself so much slack that you’ve had to completely change your original goals?

Be honest with yourself.  If you have time to be on Facebook and read blogs, then you have time go for a run.  If you have time to sit in a restaurant and wait for the waiter to come over, take your order, bring you bread, forget about you, then finally bring your meal…… then you probably had time to make yourself dinner!!!  Stop making excuses and start being honest with yourself.  Stop blaming others for your deficiencies, because you are the maker of your own reality, and you are stronger than you think!

 

-Tess

4 Responses to “Do You Suffer From Excusitis?”

  1. melissa cunningham December 12, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    AMEN sister!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    love this post!!!

    • Tess and Jess December 13, 2011 at 1:12 am #

      (Tess) I knew you would! Whatever the word for anti-excusitis is, you’re it!

  2. getfitwithles December 13, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    WOW THIS IS AWESOME! I love this post!! Excusitis is my LEAST favourite illness….gonna use this one for sure now when my clients complain 😉

    • Tess and Jess December 13, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

      (Tess) Les, this was mostly scientific fact too… I didn’t just make it up 😉 So you’ve got some definite ammo for your whiney clients!!

Leave a Reply

