Balance the Good With the Bad

15 Dec

I’m a firm believer in balance and that it’s all about the good equaling out the bad.  Since Tess and I first launched our blog, nearly two whole months ago, we’ve talked about healthy eating- be it omni or veggie diets, fitness tips and of course our friendship.  But I would be a big fat liar if I said never do I eat sweets or junk food. I totally do, I just happen to also choose quality over quantity.

A few weeks ago, Tess announced her 2012 competition plans.  As a result, she has been dialing back on the sweets and upping the nutrition in order to get ready for the arduous chore of toning up and eliminating the body fat.  If you have any doubts whatsoever in Tess’s ability to do this, you either a) don’t know her or b) haven’t seen her look like this:

That was taken from her very first fitness competition and I was so damn proud of her.

If you’re wondering what my race schedule is for 2012, keep on wondering with me because I have no idea. Though I am happy to report that the December Run Challenge is keeping my cardio levels in great shape. So when I do figure it all out, I’ll be on top of my game.

With all this in mind, I bet you’re wondering just where I’m going with this.  The answer is: cookies!

Gotta love the way my mind works.  I’ve been thinking that since Tess is cutting back on the desserts and sweets, I may as well fill that void.

To me, nothing says “Merry Christmas” like some good ol’ cookies.   Ever since I was a little girl, they have been a part of my holiday tradition when I used to go to Grandma’s house and decorate her infamous sugar cookies.   So when some girls at the office announced a few weeks ago that they’d be hosting a charity bake sale for the Montreal Children’s hospital,  naturally I  signed up.  Obviously, I decided to bake cookies.

Now as we know, I’m not a super confidant baker and definitely need a recipe to guide me along. So I once again went online to sort through different recipes trying to find a show-stopper of a cookie.  I think I succeeded. I found this recipe on the Food Network Canada website and instantly fell in love.

That’s a normal emotion to experience over cookies, right?

This recipe was pretty simple with a minimal ingredients list.  Aalways a bonus for me since we know how much I just love long ingredient lists.

As you can see this is NOT a vegan friendly recipe.  While I do enjoy the challenge of vegan baking at times, I can also appreciate the simplicity and tradition of non-vegan baking.  As I read recently: Butter comes from a cow. When you tell me where the heck margarine comes from, then I’ll use it.

Once again, living pre-1950s left me with the task of melting the chocolate over the “double boiler” since I am without a microwave.

I’ve never made a chocolate sugar cookie before, but I think I’m a convert.  Just the batter looked delicious!

Because of the large amounts of the wet ingredients, the batter was very easy to handle.  Just make sure you have slightly damp hands when forming it into little dough-balls.  It will make your life much easier.

The real showstopper in this recipe however, is the cream cheese filling.  Using light cream cheese makes it healthy, right?

These were by far some of the best cookies I’ve ever made.  If you don’t believe me, just ask my friends and co-workers.  Pre-bake sale I posted a pic of the cookies on Facebook and I probably could have pre-sold the entire batch.  Oh and I definitely sold out at the bake-sale.  Success!

You have got to try these cookies, your friends and family will thank you- if they even get a chance to taste them. One bite and you may hog the entire batch for yourself.

Yes, they are that good. Now get baking!

Cream Cheese Chocolate Cookies

Adapted from Food Network Canada

Ingredients

½ c. white sugar

½ c. brown sugar

1 c. semi salted butter, softened

1 egg

½ cup melted semi-sweet chocolate

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 ½ c. all purpose flour

Cream Cheese Icing

1 package (8oz) light cream cheese, softened

¼ c. softened butter

1/3 c. icing sugar

¼ tsp vanilla extract

Directions

Combine ingredients for icing together in a medium mixing bowl.  Mix well using hand mixer and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350F

In large bowl, beat together sugar, butter, egg, melted chocolate and vanilla until smooth. Gradually add flour while stirring. Beat until smooth. Shape dough into 36 1 ½ inch balls.

Place balls on cookie sheet about 2-inch (5 cm) apart. Flatten with glass bottom to form 2-inch (5 cm) circles.

Bake for 15 minutes or until cookies are slightly shiny and golden. Remove from oven let cool for 5 minutes before removing cookies from sheet. Repeat process until all dough is used up.

Spread half the cookies with Cream Cheese Icing and top with remaining ones, pressing lightly. Decorate as you see fit.

Makes 18 cookie ‘sandwiches’.

-Jess

2 Responses to “Balance the Good With the Bad”

  1. Tess and Jess December 15, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    (Tess) Thanks for picking up the slack in the sweets department, Jess 😉 And thanks for the vote of confidence!!!

    • Tess and Jess December 16, 2011 at 8:41 am #

      (Jess) Well I’m also a firm believer in team work. If your dieting means I need to make more “bad” dishes, well then I guess I’ll just have to take one for the team. 😉
      And as if you even need my vote of confidence- you are gonna rock it in 2012!

Leave a Reply

