1 Dish 2 Spoons: Kitchen Sink Soup

16 Dec

This week’s edition of 1 Dish 2 Spoons sees Tess and Jess explore their leftovers to give you tasty and satisfying soups- perfect for those cold winter nights.

Jess’ Take

What’s for dinner?

Don’t quote me on this, but I’m pretty sure people have been uttering that question since pre-historic times.  It’s definitely a question I’ve been asking since I knew what dinner was- much to my mother’s annoyance, right Mom?

Though I’ve grown up (slightly) and live on my own, I still ask myself that timeless question day in, day out. To answer it, my favorite tactic is to head to the grocery store to see what looks good and concoct something in my mind.  Some of my best dishes have come into existence that way.

Other times, I’ll challenge myself to use up what I already have lurking in the fridge.  While this can seem boring at times, I find it a great exercise in creativity, not to mention a good way to prevent waste.  So when Tess and I were pondering over recipes, we both separately came to the conclusion that this week’s edition of 1D2S would be soup- but soup using ingredients we already had.  It’s really true when they say great minds think alike 😉

From some previous recipes I had some parsnips and carrots hanging out in my crisper and a half-full carton of veggie-stock.  Not a bad start if you ask me.

Peaking in my pantry I found some cashews, spices and a can of diced tomatoes.

This was just getting better and better.

I started this soup off with my usual flavour base: onion and garlic.  I found some red curry paste in the fridge so I decided to throw that in as well as some ground ginger.  Carrots + Ginger= match made in heaven.

Once that had a few minutes to cook and come together, I added in my cashews, carrots, parsnips and diced tomatoes.   Again, let the ingredients simmer for a few minutes.  As soon as carrots and parsnips have softened slightly, go ahead and add in your water and veggie stock and let the soup simmer for about 20 minutes.

When the veggies are tender remove from heat and blend the soup  either in the blender or with an immersion blender.  The cashews in the soup will really give it that creaminess without adding in cream or soy milk.

Soup is such a great way to use up extra vegetables and pantry ingredients.  With some key ingredients and spices you can change yesterday’s roasted veggies into a whole new dish.  Feel free to change or modify this recipe to your taste- a sweet potato thrown into the mix would work beautifully, or use different spices for a completely different flavour.

Curried Ginger Carrot Soup

Ingredients:

1 tbsp vegetable oil

½ red onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 tsp red curry paste

3/4 tsp ground ginger

Salt and pepper to taste

3 medium carrots, peeled and diced

1 medium parsnip, peeled and diced

1/2 c. unsalted cashews

1 can diced tomatoes

1 c. water

2 c. low-sodium Vegetable Stock

Directions

In a large stock pot, heat oil over medium high heat and add in your onion.  Cook for 2 to 3 minutes until fragrant then add in your garlic. Stir for another 30 seconds before adding in cashews, curry paste, ginger, salt and pepper.

Stir constantly and allow mixture to cook for another 2 minutes then add in carrots, parsnip, and tomatoes.

Bring to a simmer then add in your water and vegetable stock before covering and allow it to cook for 20 minutes.

Remove from heat, taste and adjust seasonings.  Blend until smooth.

Serve and enjoy.

Serves 4-6

Tess’ Take

Today was just a crazy busy day.  We leave for Georgian Bay tomorrow morning so today is all about getting the apartment ready, packing, finishing up a Christmas project for my mom, and going to an interview!  Plus of course there’s a belly to feed and a blog to post.  Crazy day!

Needless to say, I didn’t have hours to cook a fancy meal.  Not only that, but I had to use up some items in my fridge so they wouldn’t go bad over the holidays (I hate throwing out food!)  All of these things were the inspiration for today’s recipe: Crockpot Kitchen Sink Soup

By 5:00, I’d been cooking my soup all day in the slow-cooker.  I’d thrown everything I could think of into a crockpot around 10:30am, and hadn’t checked on it since.  Uh-oh.  Big problems: my soup tasted like poop!  Ok ok, it’s not like it was inedible, but there was one thing in there that was just tripping up all the other flavours and it just didn’t taste quite right.  Here’s what I used:

-bit of lemon juice

-1/2 can diced tomatoes

-1/2c okra, sliced

-2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, diced

-1c vegetable broth

-5c water

-2 cloves garlic, minced

-1/2 onion, diced

-3 stalks celery, chopped

-1c green beans, chopped

-1/2c dry spelt

-dash of s&p, chili flakes, rosemary, thyme, parsley


Anybody have any idea where I went wrong?  See, this is why I need to follow recipes! lol

Well regardless of what I did wrong, I needed to either fix my flub or make something completely different for dinner.  So, I did what any logical person with little-to-no soup-making knowledge would do….. I added a can of pre made soup!!  Lol  In swooped Amy’s Organic Tomato Soup to save the day!  And you know what, by gosh, it actually worked.  

I still wouldn’t say my soup is the most amazing thing I’ve ever cooked, but at least now we might actually get through a whole bowl 😉

-Tess

Leave a Reply

