Easy Enchilada’s

18 Dec

Hello Everyone!

How was your Sunday? Good? Mine too.  Sort of.

I had good intentions and you know what they say about the road to good intentions, right?

Well I started mine off with the idea to bake some festive Christmas cookies followed by a fantastic Enchilada dish for dinner. Naturally I started things off on a high note with the cookies, despite not having the softened butter beforehand.

What can I say? My lack of a microwave is only leading to great creativity, like when I need to soften butter for cookies, apparently.

Now, as brilliant an idea as this was, I forgot one thing: my oven is currently out of order.  Last week the pilot in my gas oven was broken, and so the repairman shut it off so it could be fixed.  However, it appears that my lovely landlord did not send someone to repair it this week like he promised. Since I don’t use my oven on a regular basis (more just the stove-top), it didn’t occur to me to make sure it was working. It only dawned on me to check when I was about 3/4 the way through making the batter for these cookies.

Awesome.

Thankfully, I have an amazing friend nearby who let me crash her kitchen and finish making them. Oh and then we watched Love Actually and ate crazy-good enchiladas.

I know they look amazing, don’t they? Want the recipe?

Consider it an early Christmas present

Actually this dish is ridiculously easy to make, and it’s all in this sauce:

Start things off with onion, garlic, chili powder, cumin seeds, salt and pepper.

Then add in 2 cans of tomato sauce and let it simmer for 20-30 minutes.  DON’T wear white while making this sauce you will not come out on top.

Once it’s had a chance to simmer, strain out the onion mixture so you’re left with a smooth, smoky and spicy sauce that will take your enchilada’s to the next level. I used black beans and corn as my filling, but feel free to get creative with your veggies.

You easily make this dish vegan by subbing the cheese in for Daiya or even nutritional yeast.  Don’t forget to top with the jalapenos, those just make the dish.

Easy Enchiladas

Ingredients

1 tbsp vegetable oil

½ white onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp chili powder

½ tsp cumin seeds

Salt and pepper to taste

2 cans tomato sauce

1 c. black beans

1 c. corn (canned or frozen)

7-8 small whole wheat tortillas

¾ c. shredded cheddar cheese

Pickled jalapenos for garnish

Directions

Preheat oven to 400F

Heat oil in a medium sauce pan over medium-high heat, add in onion and cook for 2 minutes or until softened.  Add garlic and spices, stir to combine and cook for another minute.

Pour in tomato sauce and bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and simmer for 20-30 minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool 5-10 minutes.

Strain sauce into a medium sized bowl, discard onion and garlic mixture.  Pour ¼ cup of enchilada sauce into the bottom of a 9 x 13” casserole dish.

In a separate bowl, combine black beans and corn with ¼ cup of enchilada sauce to make filling. Take one of your tortillas and put 2-3 tbsp of the filling at one end then roll tightly and place seam side down in dish.  Repeat until all tortillas have been used.

Pour sauce over the enchiladas, top with shredded cheese and jalapenos.  Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 20 minutes.  Remove foil and bake for another 5 minutes until cheese is golden.  Serve with Rice.

Serves 2-4

Bon Appetit!

Jess

Leave a Reply

