Cutting Calories

19 Dec

I was reading the latest health articles on MSN.com (I’m a sucker for those “5 quick tips” pieces) and came across some Simple Ways to Cut 100 Calories.  In addition to the tips in this article, here are some of the things I do when asked to clean up my diet and start cutting calories:

-Choose fruit wisely: 1 banana is 110 calories, whereas a cup of blueberries is 40.   I’ll also start cutting back on fruit in general, as there’s alot of sugar in them.

-Cut out the milk from my coffee, and switch from sugar to stevia

-Stop drinking calories: cut out fruit juice (1 cup = 120 calories), milk (1 cup = 100 calories), and booze (those should be obvious though).  Thankfully I’m not someone who enjoys pop, but if you are, you should cut it out for more reasons than just weight management!!

-Cut out all the little “add-ons” used on food like butter, sauces, nuts (yes, they’re healthy, but they do add up!), jams, condiments, etc.

-Limit oil used in cooking.  For example, instead of sauteeing in olive oil, cook them in some water, and use Pam Olive Oil cooking spray instead of straight oil.

-Limit yolks in morning omelets.  Instead of using two whole eggs, I’ll use 6 egg whites.

-Drink more WATER!

-Start measuring the weights and quantities of foods.  4oz of chicken looks an awful lot like 5oz to me, and it’s easy for those extra 50 calories to add up quickly!

-And of course, cut out sweets and junk and processed foods.

Tess

4 Responses to “Cutting Calories”

  1. Tess and Jess December 20, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    (Jess)- Great tips Tess! Final tip- when in doubt, eat something green 😉 (Green jelly beans do not count)

  2. getfitwithles December 20, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    So true yet easier said than done!! I found weighing my food was very eye opening-it made me realize how I was eating wayyyy too much! Very useful tips THANKS!
    Les

  3. 3momsmeals December 21, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Whats your take on raw sugar?

    • Tess and Jess December 22, 2011 at 12:46 am #

      (Tess) Somewhat better than refined sugar, but still sugar all the same 😛

Leave a Reply

