15 Holiday Questions from Tess and Jess

25 Dec

We recently saw this post by the lovely Chelsey and thought we’d each answer these questions, too.

From our kitchens to yours, we wish you a Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and all the best for the New Year.

Love,
Tess and Jess xo

Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

Jess: Oh they are definitely wrapped, but funny you mention because the wrapping paper Santa uses is the same as the wrapping paper from my parents… wait… !

Tess: Wrapped.  Because if they weren’t it’d be too obvious which were from your parents and which were from Santa!

Colored lights on tree/house or white?

Jess: I always liked the multi-coloured lights, they add some festive flair to the tree.

Tess: Coloured.  The blue themed ones are the best.

Do you hang mistletoe?

Jess: No.

Tess: Where does one even find mistletoe? 

What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

Jess: When I was a kid, it was definitely mashed potatoes.  I LOVED mashed potatoes.  Now, it’s probably the Squash with Wild Rice stuffing I posted about earlier.

Tess: Ooooh, it’s a three-way tie.  1) shrimp rings, 2) escargot, 3) green beans with slivered almonds.  The first two may seem like an odd Christmas dish, but they’re tradition in my house 🙂

Favorite Holiday memory as a child?

Jess: Before my Grandma passed away, I used to go to her house and help her decorate sugar cookies.  It was a special little tradition we used to share together that I hope I’ll get to do someday when I have grandkids. (In the really far future!!!)

Tess: Awww Jess, that’s a sweet one!   My favourite memory is going to midnight mass.  We’re practicing Catholics, so going to mass was something we did every week anyways, but we always got especially dressed up for it, the lights in the church would be dimmed, and the music was extra beautiful on Christmas.  To me, it’s not Christmas until I’ve been to mass.

Snow? Love it or dread it?

Jess: Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!!   Actually can the damn snow hurry up and get here already, I would really like to go skiing. Thanks.

Snow, dammit!

Tess: My opinion on snow is that  if you hate it so much, then move to a warmer climate!  Otherwise, I love the look of a white landscape and smell of the crisp air.  Nothing is cozier than snuggling in front of the window and watching the snow fall.

Real tree or fake tree?

Jess: I’ll be honest and admit that I currently have this teeny tiny fake tree occupying the living room of my apartment.

It was a housewarming gift from my parents a couple of years ago.  However, I definitely prefer real trees. The look, feel, and smell of them, is just so much more festive than a fake tree.

Tess: Real.  The smell of fresh pine add an extra dimention to the Christmas decor in a home.  I’m proud to say that I have chopped and hauled my own tree on more than one occasion 🙂

What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Jess: Definitely it’s about spending time with my family.  Living 6 hours away from them, I can’t see them whenever I want.  So to me, the holidays are a time when we are able to relax and spend some time together at the cottage.

With our barn

Tess:  PRESENTS!  I mean……. in all seriousness though, I think the most important part about Christmas is giving thanks to God for everything he’s given us – our family, our lives, our food, our homes, and our incredible good fortune.  Even if you don’t pray to the Christian God (or maybe no god at all), it’s important to take the time we’ve been given off of work to really enjoy everything we have, and reflect on how we’ve gotten here.

What is your favorite Holiday dessert?

Jess: No contest, Nanaimo Bars.  Pretty sure my younger brother and I have gone through about 20 of these babies in the past 3 days.  It’s a good thing I’m running every day!!

Tess: My mom makes these things called Beaver Dams.  They’r like little drops made out of Chow Mein noodles and peanuts, with melted chocolate and butterscotch chipits binding them together. 

What is your favorite tradition?

Jess: My family always insists on making these god-awful Christmas crackers with ridiculous tissue-paper hats.  It is mandatory that you wear them throughout Christmas dinner.

Another tradition is my Mom will make a delicious scone a few days before Christmas.  On Christmas morning, she’ll heat it up and serve it with jam and Devonshire or clotted cream- so good! If you’re all nice, I’ll see if Mom will let me post up the recipe 😉

Tess:  Bahaha, Jess we have the same little hats at our place!  I actually like them though lol.  We always got to open one gift on Christmas Eve after midnight mass.  That one gift was almost always a box of cereal, which we would eat the following morning while opening the rest of our presents.

What tops your tree?

Jess: On my tree in my apartment, this tiny little star I picked up from the Dollar store.  At the cottage, we have a star also, but it likes to lean over at times- too much eggnog.

Tess: We have the oldest, tackiest star you have ever seen on our fake tree.  I think it’s made out of tinsel.  We’ve had it for as long as I can remember though, so we love it all the same.

What is your favorite Christmas Song?

Jess: Bing Crosby’s version of The Christmas Song, or Baby It’s Cold Outside

Tess: Oh Holy Night, by anyone who can hit the high note.  Celine Dion does a good version.

What do you leave for Santa?

Jess: We used to leave cookies with milk and some carrots for Rudolph.

Tess: I thought everybody left the same things?

Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

Jess: When we were kids, my brother and I would go and bring up the stockings to my parents’ bedroom and we’d open our stocking stuffers there.  10 minutes later, we’d go down and open the rest of the presents.

Now, we open everything up in the living room, starting with our very mature stocking stuffers:

Tess: Aside from eating our Christmas cereal, our tradition involved impatiently waiting for dad to finally be awake to open presents.   Again, I think everybody has similar “traditions” here, no?

Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall?

Jess: I’ll do a combination, and now that I work for a clothing company a lot of my Christmas shopping gets done at work.  If I do hit downtown or the mall, I try and go in November to avoid the rush.  I cannot stand crowds and get fed up with stupid people.  You know, the ones that come out in droves during the holidays?  Ah well, ’tis the season!

Tess: I’m a tactile shopper, and I like to actually visualize the recipient holding the gift, so I shop at the mall.  Plus I don’t have a credit card.

Jess: Joyeux Noël from my family to yours!

Tess:

Leave a Reply

