Zucchini Bread Oatmeal

29 Dec

I’m back, and I have pictures!  Christmas at the Grise residence was very low-key and chill.  I always love going home and visiting my mom and sisters.  Not just for the visiting, but also for the food!  My mom loves to experiment, and my sisters love to bake.  And of course, we all love to EAT!

The Grise clan at half force

Kim's first attempt at Red Velvet Cake. Considering this was her first shot and it was amazing, I can't even wrap my head around how good it's going to be with some practice!

John being silly with the puppy

Though, I can’t say our dogs felt as relaxed as we did.  My sister had brought up her dog as well, and those two played almost non-stop all week.  Except for the odd mid-day nap 😉

All tuckered out

The following dish was adapted from Angela’s recipe.  I didn’t change much except that I swapped the brown sugar for stevia, and omitted the butter altogether.  I don’t know what her version tastes like, but this one was pretty dang good, and has since become my #1 favourite breakfast meal.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup water (or low fat milk of choice)
  • 1/2-1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt & nutmeg, to taste
  • 1/2 cup packed finely grated zucchini
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds or ground flax
  • 1 tbsp raisins
  • 2 tbsp chopped pecans (I maybe walnuts or almonds)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
Directions:
1. Add water/milk, cinnamon, salt, nutmeg, vanilla, and oats to a pot and bring to a boil.  Simmer for a few minutes, until most (but not all) of the liquid is absorbed.
2. Add zucchini, chia/flax, raisins, and half the pecans.  Cook for another 5-6 minutes.  You may need to add more liquid, depending on the consistency you prefer.
4. Serve with remaining pecans for garnish.
I sweetened mine with stevia, but you could also try sucanat, honey, or even pure maple syrup.  I’ve also tried this recipe with grated carrots instead of zucchini to make a carrot bread version, and it turned out very well!  The only difference is that you have to cook your carrots a bit longer.
 -Tess


2 Responses to “Zucchini Bread Oatmeal”

  1. Murray December 30, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    The oatmeal looks delicious, Tess! I have it most mornings, but only add cinnamon. Definitely going to try this out 🙂

    • Tess and Jess December 30, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      (Tess) Thanks Murray! I think most people would be scared by the idea of vegetables in oatmeal, but you can barely even taste the zucchini! Let me know what you think 😀

Leave a Reply

