2012 Resolutions

2 Jan

Tess’ Goals

I don’t actually like the idea of resolutions because I feel that if you really want to do something badly enough, there’s no reason you should put it off until January 1st  to start doing it.  Do it now, Do it now, DO IT NOW!

Having said that, I do believe in setting expectations for the year; I’ll make a list of things I want to accomplish, which is really just another version of my Goal Setting.

These are things I’d like to do in 2012:

Accumulate some more certifications: another PT cert from a different organization, nutrition, and maybe yoga?

Pay off all my debts.  I’m so close I can taste it!  I just need one solid year of earnings and I can be debt, loan, and credit free!!!

Do 2 fitness competitions, and hopefully get my Pro Card!

Take 4 weeks off throughout the year.  It’s not unusual for me to go 3 years without taking a single vacation.  This year I was fortunate enough to take not one, but two vacations and I decided afterwards that I wanted to start doing that every year.

Move into a house with a yard.  I’ve been living in apartments downtown for 3 year now and while there are some obvious advantages, I’m a country girl at heart and am really starting to itch for some green space.  Oh yeah, and I’m sure the dog wouldn’t mind either lol.

Clear skin.  I’ve been struggling with acne since I was 12 years old and I am so damn sick and tired of it.  I’m a full grown woman, for crying out loud!!  I’ve been trying to do it on my own for years now, but I think it’s finally time to see a dermatologist and get this under control.

Buy amazing Christmas gifts.  Don’t get me wrong – I bought some pretty good gifts this year, but just once I would love to go Christmas shopping and be able to afford whatever I want for people, rather than choosing gifts based on a limited budget.

Do 10 unassisted pullups.  I’m averaging 4 right now, which I’m actually really happy with, but I want MORE!   Considering my latest achievement with the 360lb leg press, I think it’s more than achievable.

Go rock climbing.  I’ve wanted to do this since I was 10 years old, after seeing the movie “Cliffhanger” with Sly Stallone.  This is probably the easiest one on my list to accomplish, so somebody please smack me if by this time next year I still haven’t done this one.

Get a yoga studio membership.  Yoga can be expensive, which is what’s held me back so far, but I think that investing in one’s health has great value.  I’d like to start doing yoga twice a week, which’ll mean getting a membership at some point.  This will mostly depend on how well I do in my new Personal Training job.

-Enjoy my daily walks outside.  Ok, this one is a bit resolutiony.  I used to LOVE walking – it was the highlight of my day!  And then I’m not sure what happened… in the last couple years I’ve just become disenamored by it.  Maybe because now, having the dog, walking has become something I “have” to do rather than something I “want” to do.  Whatever the reason, I really want to get back to that mental space where I can go outside, no matter the weather, and enjoy a really long walk in nature.

From our family to yours 🙂

Jess’ Goals

Call it cliché, but there is something to be said about setting resolutions for the New Year.  I’m a goal oriented person afterall so it’s nice to set a few directions for myself.

With that in mind, here are my New Year’s Resolutions for 2012:

Yes, I’ve listed them by category alphabetically. Have I ever mentioned I’m slightly OCD?

Diet:  Shift to a 90% vegan diet.  Why not 100%? Well, I’m not ready for that and I do travel a bit for work.  I’ve found, for me at least, eating vegan is not always possible in some travel situations.  Essentially, my goal is to adopt a vegan diet but when faced with a scenario where that will not be an option, I will choose nutrient-dense meals over a vegan but non-substantial salad.

Fitness: Commit to Moksha Yoga.  I’ve recently signed up for a 4-month membership at the Moksha Studio near my house.  My goal is to go 2-3 times per week this winter.  At the end of the 4 months I’ll decide if I want to extend it.

Lifestyle: Be more Eco-conscious.   This will include things such as: using Montreal’s public transportation system more often, reduce consumption of materials that cannot be reused or recycled, and working to reduce my food waste.  It’s no secret that I love to cook, but I’m not a huge fan of leftovers.  I also have a habit of letting some produce rot before I get a chance to use it, so I’m working on that one too 😉

And finally:

Reciprocate. Ok, well I mean “giving back” but that didn’t work in my alphabetical theme so I had to find another word.  For 2011, following the end of a long-term relationship, I had resolved to put the focus back on myself and re-evaluate my wants and needs, which I did.  Now with my life pretty much back on track, I want to give back to my community by volunteering- something I haven’t done in quite some time.

Well there you have it, my New Year’s resolutions for 2012.  2011, you were pretty awesome but I have a feeling 2012 will be even better.

Yoga at a party? Why not!

Happy New Year!

Love,
Tess & Jess

What are your goals for this year?

3 Responses to “2012 Resolutions”

  1. Tenecia January 2, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Love the yoga at a party picture!!

    T.

    • Tess and Jess January 2, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

      (Jess) Thanks Tenecia, we figured it was appropriate since the party was being held at a Yoga studio 😉

  2. getfitwithles January 2, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Love this post ladies!! Some awesome goals! Make me want to write my list down and share it with everyone because that way there is a better chance I will follow though!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Les

Leave a Reply

