Change in Plans, and Adventures in Juicing

16 Jan

For reasons that I won’t get into here and now, I’m going to have to cancel my competition plans for this year.  Not to worry – I’m ok!  I’ll explain more in a future post, but for now you’ll just have to take my word that it’s a very good reason lol.

Moving right along.  Since I won’t be competing, that means I can be off the diet.  However, I still want to eat as healthfully as possible, and you can bet I’ll still be hitting the gym with my best efforts.  Healthy living is a lifestyle, and show or no show, I want my body to be the best it can be at any given time or circumstance.

My mom bought me two amazing gifts this Christmas that I’d been longing for for years, but was never able to justify buying for myself: a juicer, and a food processor.   This past week I’ve been making great use of both these machines to help change up my food routine (we all get stuck in a food rut sometimes), and get some extra nutrients into my body; pair that with my existing blender, and I have been juicing/blending like a mad woman!

Triple Threat: (L-R) food processor, blender, juicer

So far I have made: Jess’ Hummus,

countless smoothies,

Babylonian Breakfast: almonds, prunes, rolled oats, flaxseed (soaked overnight in milk of choice), yogurt, lemon juice and rind.

vegetable and fruit juices (though not too much fruit juice as the sugar content in fruits can add up quickly!),

Kale, spinach, parsley, apple, celery, green pepper, and carrots = 5 servings of veggies and 1 fruit in a glass.

Potato and Leek Soup, my Roasted Red Pepper and Walnut dip, and today’s feature:

Stuffed Acorn Squash with Pineapple

Ingredients:

1 large acorn squash

*½ cup pineapple

1 ½ tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg

¼ tsp allspice

¼ tsp ginger

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

2. Cut acorn squash in half lengthwise.  I like to use a fork to poke little holes in the squash because I think it makes it cook faster.

3. Line a baking sheet with tin foil (reduces mess!) and place the squash cut side down on the sheet.  I don’t think it matters too much whether you place cut side up or down, but I have found that it cooks faster down, and the squash retains its moisture better.  I also sprinkled mine with some cinnamon before hitting the oven.

4. Bake for approximately 45 minutes, until squash is fork tender.

5. Meanwhile, prepare the pineapple.  *If you’re using fresh pineapple, then I would suggest throwing it in the blender or food processor for a few seconds just to smoothe it out.  Leave a few chunks though 😉  If you’re using store bought crushed pineapple, then no further preparation is necessary.

How'd that get in there?

6. Scoop out the meat of the acorn squash, leaving the shell intact.

7. Mix the pineapple, squash, and spices in a large bowl.  You can mix it up to be as chunky or smoothe as you like.  Mine (accidentally) turned into something of a puree because I put the mixture back into the food processor.  Oh well.

8. Scoop the mix into the reserved acorn squash shells and bake for another 7-10 minutes, until the pineapple is hot and bubbly.

What I really want to try next is making my own almond milk.  I tried making rice milk today, but it was an epic fail.  I won’t even show you the pictures, that’s how bad it was.  My sister Julia says that making almond milk is super easy, so we’ll see.  Anybody have any tips?

-Tess

5 Responses to “Change in Plans, and Adventures in Juicing”

  1. Jacqueline Grise January 16, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Wow – could you be more productive in the kitchen?! I feel so lazy. The smoothy & juice look delicious 🙂

    • Tess and Jess January 16, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      (Tess)…. says the woman who hand makes every single decoration, gift, and article of clothing! I’m just trying to play catch-up to you!

  2. Emily January 16, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    When I make rice milk, I basically cook the rice normally except I add 2-3 times the amount of water called for. When it’s done cooking, I let it cool a bit, then I throw all of the rice and water from the pot into a blender (some times I have to do it in batches, depending on how much rice you’ve made). Once I’m done blending, I strain it through a fine grater or even a cheese cloth. There you have it!

    Julia’s way better at the almond milk. I’ll let her describe that one to you…

    • Tess and Jess January 16, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

      (Tess) Aaaah, so maybe my first problem was that I didn’t cook the rice. I just let it sit overnight in a bowl of water, then juiced it the next day. It was obviously still too hard for the juicer though since most of the rice ended up in the pulp collector. Your way sounds better – I’ll try it! Thanks 🙂

  3. Emily January 16, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Not a fine grater… a fine strainer! Silly me!

Leave a Reply

