Astounding Arms

18 Jan

By far, one of the most complimented parts on my body (which also happen to be my personal favourite features) are my arms.  Yup, I said it.  I love my arms.  Great genetics (from both sides) allow me to carry little fat in my arms, and build muscle relatively easily.  Pair that with years of karate drills in my developmental youth, and I’m in possession of a beautiful pair of curvy, muscular arms that instantly tell onlookers that I take good care of myself.

For the past few years I’ve been lifting heavier and using various “shocking” techniques to get my arms to grow… and it’s been working!

BAM!

This was me about 4 years ago. Can you see the difference? 🙂

Lately though I’ve been changing up my arm routine and using lighter weights for more reps.  (Note: contrary to popular belief, this approach will not give you more definition or “toning”; doing more reps simply trains your muscular endurance.  If you want more definition, you need to develop your muscle, and decrease your body fat).  I’ve also been cutting my total sets down by 1/4 , because at this point I’m not looking to make my arms much bigger, I just want to keep what I have in a happy place!

This workout may not be for everybody, since we all have different goals for each of our body parts.  But I thought I’d share what I’ve been up to, and maybe it’ll give you some ideas too!  I did three sets of every exercise, doing each exercise in the superset back-to-back before taking 2 minutes to recover after each set.

Muscle Exercise Reps
Superset  Bicep Barbell Curls 15-20
Bicep Dumbbell Hammer Curls 25-30
Bicep High Pulley Cable Curls 25-30
Tricep Reverse Grip One Arm Cable Extensions 15-20
Superset Tricep Skull Crushers 15-20
Tricep Dips 12-15
Tricep Overhead Extensions 15-20
Bicep Low Pulley Cable Concentration Curls 20 per arm
You’ll notice that I’m doing fewer repetitions for my triceps – that’s because they’re a little more stubborn to respond to training than my biceps, so I want to work with heavier weights just to make sure I maintain their size 😉
Happy training everybody!
-Tess
5 Responses to “Astounding Arms”

  1. 3momsmeals January 18, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Laura : whats a skull crusher… lol I’m such a noob

    • Tess and Jess January 18, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      (Tess) Oh sorry… that’s lingo. Lay down on your back. Get a barbell and hold it over your head with your hands slightly less than shoulder width apart. Keep your elbows still and lower the bar towards your head (so that if you dropped it, it would crush your skull! lol) until it’s hovering just over your forehead. Return weight starting position.

  2. getfitwithles January 18, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    I have always been very envious of your arms…I am going to try this workout! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Tenecia January 18, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    I love getting compliments on my arms too – it makes me feel like a badass 🙂

    T.

  4. melissa cunningham January 19, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    wheres the gun show again?
    😀

    love the workout-i have done simular training and its awesome!!!
    keep up your great work!!!

Leave a Reply

