When we were young, part 3: When Jess met John

22 Jan

In honour of the engagement between a woman I’ve come know as my sister and a man I love almost as much as my brothers, this is for them.

2009

I remember quite clearly the day when John and I first met. It was in the fall of 2009 and a bunch of our Bishop’s friends were getting together for a big dinner.   A few of our friends from Ottawa, Tess and John included, were driving down for the occasion.  Tess and John would be staying at my place as I had a second bedroom at the time.

BU Crew + Spouses

Saturday morning arrived crisp and clear and I eagerly awaited the arrival of Tess and this new mystery man in her life.  The car pulled up and I saw Tess leap out of the passenger side and come running up to the door.  Not too far behind was a man I’d been hearing about non-stop for the past few months.   A big man with a genuine smile and an even bigger heart, my first impression of John, was well, big.

I’m 5’1”- anything over 6” is enormous to me.

I quickly got to know John as a sweet and kind person, one who is protective but not overbearing; easy going but not lazy.  He also quickly understood mine and Tess’ relationship and wasted no time egging on one another in our harmless need to out-do the other. I instantly liked him.

Jess, John, Joey and Karo in Montreal's Old Port

As the months and then years passed, John became a good friend, not just because he was in Tess’ life but because he was just such a fun person who gladly joined in with us.  If we held a costume party, John was decked out from head-to-toe; one of our birthdays, he’d gladly buy you a shot.   If one of us was getting unwanted attentions at the bar, that guy was quickly taught a lesson of don’t mess with these girls because you’ll be answering to me.

Jess, John and crew, bustin a move at Tanya's wedding

Every time I’ve come to Ottawa to visit Tess, I was almost as happy to see John.  He has become a fixture in our group, a member who belongs just as much as Tess.  He laughs at our pre-bar rituals,  shakes his head at our shenanigans, and tries to run as far away as possible when we put a chick-flick on.

When Tess called me yesterday to let me know of her engagement, I have never been happier for two people in my life.  I wish them nothing but happiness as they embark on this new chapter in their relationship and I consider myself so lucky to bear witness to it.

Congratulations Tess and John.  Love to you both.

-Jess

2 Responses to “When we were young, part 3: When Jess met John”

  1. getfitwithles January 23, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Wow you hit the nail on the head! John is an amazing person and I love the way you described his character in this post. Such a sweet man and the perfect person for Tess 🙂 I am so excited for them! This makes me want to hang out with Tess and John more! I love this post! 🙂
    Les

    • Tess and Jess January 23, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      (Jess) Thanks Les! I’m glad you loved this post as much as I loved writing it! 🙂 And yes, those two are *perfect* for each other!

Leave a Reply

