One Dish Two Spoons: Travel Snacks!

3 Feb

This week’s edition takes on a travel theme.  With Jess once again hitting the road, this time to the T-Dot, we thought we’d give you some recipes worthy of any road trip.

*******

Jess’ Take

As you read this I’m currently en route to Toronto for the weekend! There’s nothing like a li’l road trip to spark blogspiration.  Apparently, I’m now inventing new words, can ya tell it’s Friday?

Anywho with this “vegan for a week” challenge still going on, finding roadside snacks that are vegan friendly AND healthy is going to be a bit tough.  So rather than pull at my hair in frustration and get severely grumpy out of hunger (road rage= not a good thing whilst driving along the 401), I figured I’d provide you all with a travel snack. Thus we have this week’s edition of 1 Dish 2 Spoons.

These chewy gooey granola bars are no-bake and packed with all sorts of fun things like oats, sunflower seeds, almond butter and maple syrup.  While I would love to take full credit for these lovelies, it was scouring through the World Wide Web where I stumbled upon Gena’s   Five Minute, No-Bake Sunflower Bars.   I’m giving you a modified version as I had zero time to grocery shop last night and was at the mercy of my pantry.

By the way, have you ever checked out Gena’s blog? I really recommend you do.  She is plain awesome with her thought provoking (and debate-sparking) posts as well as delicious recipes.  Before I get super sappy, I will finish this off by saying she is one of the many reasons why I’m (slowly) transitioning to a vegan diet.

Ok, enough with that, here’s the recipe:

No-Bake Oats and Almond bars

Inspired by Gena’s Five Minute, no-bake sunflower bars

2 c. Rolled Oats

1 c. sunflower seeds

2/3 c. Almond butter

¼ c. maple syrup

1/3 c. dried cranberries

1/3 c. golden raisins

Directions

In a large bowl combine all dry ingredients (oats, seeds, cranberries, raisins) and then add in your almond butter and maple syrup.  Mix well until all combined.

Line a baking dish with foil or parchment paper and press mixture into the pan and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight.

Lift the paper/foil up and out of the pan, cut into bar shapes and wrap.

In case you were wondering, no, this is not all I brought along with me for the trip.  I also packed some fruit (pear and banana) as well as some cut-up veggies to snack on.

Happy Weekending!

-Jess

Tess’ Take

Maybe the theme for this week should be 6 ingredients, 6 minutes.  My recipe took no time at all, and most of the ingredients I already had in my pantry.  Bonus!

Healthy Hermits (Date Balls)

Ingredients:

2 tbs ground flaxseed

1/2 cup almonds

1/2 cup peanuts

1-1/2  cups pitted honey dates, firmly packed

2 tbsp shredded coconut (optional)

2 tbs honey (optional)

Directions

1) Place all ingredients into a food processor.  If you’re using a blender, you may want to coarsely chop the nuts first.

2) Mix until well blended.  Or blend until well mixed.  Your choice.

3) Roll into balls (whatever size you like)

4) Eat!  If you’d like them to be a bit firmer, you can also refrigerate for a couple hours.

I made about 35 small balls and calculated the calories to be about 55 each.  If you omit the honey and coconut, they’ll be even less.

That’s it, that’s all.  Short and sweet 🙂

-Tess

Leave a Reply

