Once Per Year

6 Feb

Well, it finally happened.  I got sick.  I haven’t been sick in 1 whole year, but my luck finally ran out.

Thankfully, I’m not someone who gets sick often, and when I do it never lasts long.  Probably because when my body does finally contract a virus, I try to do everything in my power to get it the hell out of my body.  I try not to use much medicine, so I generally just rely on lots of tea, water, fruits and vegetables, and bump up my carbs.  Strangely, I’ve never been one to lose my appetite when I get sick – I figure my body needs all the energy it can get, so I usually end up eating the same amount or even more.  And of course, I really like the traditional honey-lemon-ginger tea combo as a home remedy.

My sensei always told us that the best way to fight a cold was to sweat it out, so I also like to do some light exercise when I’m feeling under the weather.  Nothing crazy, but I’ll take more walks outdoors (may sound contradictory, especially in the winter.  But I’m a firm believer in the healing power of fresh air), do 20 minutes of cardio, hot yoga, and 30 minutes of light weight-lifting a couple of times throughout the duration of the sickness.

What are some of the tricks you use to get over a cold?  Anybody out there with some good home remedies?

-Tess

7 Responses to “Once Per Year”

  1. Clare February 6, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Poor sicky lady. I luckily don’t get sick too much either…once, twice tops per year. I make sure to get a lot of rest, but I try to be up and about a bit, as I feel that I’ll get sicker if I stay in bed for too long. I’ve been taking oil or oregano and echinacea tea when sick and it seems to do the trick… also 1000mg of vitamin.

    Feel better soon! I’m sure you will since you’re a healthy lady 🙂

    • Tess and Jess February 6, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      (Tess) I totally agree about being up and about! When I lay in bed/around the house I start to dwell on how badly I feel. Getting up distracts me lol. I’ll have to try the oregano oil… do you take it in tea, or just straight?

  2. Jenn February 6, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    I’m like you I rarely get sick and I just had a nasty sinus cold I’m also like you I don’t like to take medicine some so I like to bust out the rawleigh’s vapour rub and get the humdifier going.

    • Tess and Jess February 6, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

      (Tess) Humidifier…. that’s a good one!!!

  3. Dawn February 8, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    If you’re stuffed up…. Neti Pot! Hope you feel better soon!

    • Tess and Jess February 8, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      (Tess) What is Neti Pot?! I’ve never heard of this!

      • Dawn February 13, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

        It’s like a little teapot that you use to pour saline solution in your nose. You tip your head so it goes in one nostril, around your nasal cavity and out the other nostril. A couple of weeks ago I was stuffed up, couldn’t sleep and miserable because I can’t really take anything for colds. I tried the neti pot and it cleared my sinuses right up – I could breathe out my nose and slept great that night. You Tube “neti pot” to see some demonstrations :o)

Leave a Reply

