Finally Committing…

9 Feb

Can someone please tell me what happened to the month of January? I have vague memories of ringing in 2012 with Tess (and quite a few glasses of wine).  There were trips to Toronto and Ottawa, and a ski-day thrown in for good measure.  Now all of a sudden it’s nearly the middle of February and I haven’t even shared my race plans with you all yet.  My bad!

Actually, it’s probably because I haven’t really started training yet that I’ve neglected to tell you, so you wouldn’t be wondering: will this girl stop eating hummus already and go out and run for once?!

Sorry, got distracted for a moment there.

Well once you see what I have in store, you can best believe I will be running, like starting as soon as I hit publish on this post.

Last year was my first season running half marathons. I completed two races in the half-marathon distance: 1 road, 1 trail.  I also ran a 12km trail race which went well until my running partner fell and snapped his ankle.  Good times. <—- Sarcasm

My road half-marathon race was the Ottawa Half Marathon.  Despite suffering through a really bad hip flexor injury at the time, I decided to run anyway and completed it in just under 2:05.  I was then unable to walk properly for 3 weeks.  Oh well, live and learn!

This left me little time to train for the trail race I was scheduled to run which was Leg 3 in the Canadian Death Race.  To date, this is by far the coolest race I have ever participated in.   For those of you who aren’t in the know, the Canadian Death Race is a 125km ultra-marathon located in the middle of nowhere, Alberta aka Grande Cache.  You can run the Death Race solo or in a team, which is what I did with members from my office.  Words really do not do this race justice. The terrain and the mountain backdrop made it just so freakin’ cool!

Start/Finish area

Some of the terrain in the background

Despite not having a ton of time to train coming off my injury, I decided to run anyway and I hammered through those 22km in about 2:15.  Not bad, but it’s now only left me wanting more and in need of new shoes.

They were white at one point.

So with that in mind, here’s what I’ve got lined up for 2012!

1st Race: Good Life Toronto Marathon

Distance: 21.1km

Date: May 6th

Goal: 2:00 hours or less

I managed to convince Dustin to sign up and run as well (his first ever!). He’s now wondering how I ever talked him into it.  Hah!

2nd Race: Ottawa Race Weekend

Distance: 10km

Date: May 26th

Goal: Sub-50 minutes

I ran this race back in 2010 with a time of 54:55.  I then went on a semi-casual run along the canal back in November and ran 10km in 52:50.  So I guess I gotta take it to the next level!

3rd Race: Whistler Half Marathon

Distance: 21.1km

Date: June 2nd

Goal: Sub 2 Hours

Coming off a month of 1 half marathon and a 10km race under my belt, I’m hoping I’ll be able to beat that 2:00 hour time spot if I haven’t already in Toronto. Fingers crossed!

But wait, there’s more!

4th Race: Canadian Death Race

Distance: TBD

Goal: TBD

I’m not sure yet which leg I’ll be running.  My co-worker and I talked about him doing leg 2 and me tackling leg 4, but we’ll see what happens.

We'll see which leg I tackle this year

So there are my official plans for Spring/Summer 2012.  Come June/July I’ll have figured out the Fall. Maybe.

Oh and if you want to check out more on this Death Race I’ve been speaking of, here’s a video from last year that pretty much captures it in a nutshell:

 

Are you planning on running any races this year? Care to join me in one of the above?

-Jess

Leave a Reply

