1 Dish, 2 Spoons: Breakfast

11 Feb

It’s “the most important meal of the day”, so why don’t we post about breakfast more often?  Perhaps because, as faithful readers will know, Jess is barely functional in the morning until she’s had coffee.  Or because Tess is too hungry in the morning to have the patience for photographing her food.  Either way, these are not great conditions for superior blogging.  However, on days like these where the stars align and conditions are right, we were able to cook up two great recipes to help you fuel your body, and spice up what can easily become the most under appreciated meal of the day.

Tess’ Take

I need four things in the morning: water, carbs, protein, and a fruit/vegetable.  It’s no exaggeration to say that my whole day is out of whack if I don’t satisfy these criteria soon after waking.

Keeping that in mind, today I decided to revisit a recipe I’d made for John a couple years ago when we first started dating (courtesy of Martha Stewart).  I’d wanted to impress him with a unique breakfast, but it had ended badly.  He stayed with me despite my failed attempt, so I guess it must be love!  (You’re going to have to listen to a lot of this lovey dovey stuff for the next couple months. I make no apologies :P)

My second attempt was a huge success; this recipe screams Sunday Brunch, and has tons of kid-friendly potential.  I can’t remember what Martha called them, but I call them “Breakfast Cupcakes”.

Ingredients (serves 1):

-2 slices whole wheat (or other) bread

-2 eggs

-2 slices turkey bacon

-small handful spinach

-Pam cooking spray

-cheese (optional)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375F, and warm a large frying pan on medium heat.  Spray with Pam.

2. Cook turkey bacon and spinach.  You can do this separately, though I found my pan was big enough for both 🙂

3. Meanwhile, use a rolling pin or glass to flatten out the bread.  Use a large round cookie cutter or, again, a glass to cut out a circle in the bread.  Now cut the bread round in half.

4. Spray a muffin tin with Pam.  Now line the inside of the tins with the bread halves, filling in any empty spaces with leftover bread.  Press the bread firmly into the sides.

5. Place a few pieces of spinach in each tin, then crack one egg into each.  Add your turkey bacon by following the contour of the bread.  Note: the bacon should be added after the egg to ensure the egg has contact with the bread.  The whole thing will fall apart otherwise…. trust me.

6. Finally, you can top your cupcakes with some cheese.  Bake for 10-15 minutes, depending on how runny you like your eggs.  Mine were fully cooked after 15.

7. Remove Breakfast Cupcakes from tins, and enjoy!  I chose to complete my meal with a bowl of fruit 🙂

I’ve also seen a variation of this recipe where ham is used to line the cupcake tins, and the egg is placed inside.  To make this dish vegetarian, simply omit the turkey bacon.  And don’t be afraid to play with the vegetables – tomato, mushroom, and green onion would all be wonderful alternatives!

-Tess

*****************************************************************8

Jess’ Take

I am the most boring person alive when it comes to breakfast.  Toast and fruit with maybe a green smoothie every.single.day, seriously.  My breakfast rut has to do with a few things:

1-      I am not a morning person. Like, at all. My coworkers won’t speak to me until I’ve had my morning coffee fix.  Even Dustin brings me coffee first thing in the morning when we’re together.

2-      I’m not a huge fan of breakfast foods and being in transition towards a vegan diet, I’m not eating eggs or much dairy.  Oh and I hate oatmeal.  I know, I know. Don’t even get me started. Please.

Last weekend, when I was still doing the vegan challenge, Dustin and I met up with some friends for brunch at Cora’s.  Normally, when on a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet, breakfast is probably the easiest meal to accommodate.  Holding the bacon is not a huge deal, here.   But, vegan? That is a whole different ball game.   While I loved my massive fruit plate with brown (dry) toast and peanut butter, it got me thinking that I best start thinking outside the egg when it comes to breakfast foods.

So promising...

Banana bread is one of my favorite dessert breads. It’s so moist and it’s not too sweet. Throw in some walnuts and I’m a happy girl.  But let’s face it- laden with sugar, eggs, and processed white flour- it’s not exactly a healthy start to your day.  So that got me thinking about how I might possibly bulk up the nutrient value, eliminate the animal products, and make this a viable option for breakfast or a snack.

.... yet so disappointing

Sadly, I cannot share this recipe with you as it was just plain awful.  Like, I couldn’t even get through one bite awful.  Dustin tells me it’s ok, but I think that’s because he was afraid he wouldn’t get dinner if he said otherwise.

One day I will perfect a vegan banana bread recipe to share with you all, but today is not that day.

Maybe next week!

-Jess

Leave a Reply

