Exciting Things

11 Feb

Recently I told you all that I would be cancelling my competition plans for this year, but kept my reasons very vague.

Sorry for the cliffhanger, guys!

John and I have decided that after the wedding (which is in April) we’re going to start trying to have a baby.  I didn’t think I’d want kids for another few years, but I’ve recently had a change of heart.  I waited so many years to start doing fitness competitions and personal training because I was always waiting for the perfect time.  What I’ve since learned is that there’s no better time than now, and you have to make your own opportunities.

I’m not doing any shows this year so that my body can be in a good place to get pregnant.  Not only is the work involved with competition prep very physically/mentally/emotionally taxing, but also all the supplements (caffeine, creatine, etc.) aren’t exactly baby-friendly.  I know some women who have done competitions while pregnant with no negative effect on the baby (check out my friend Melissa’s blog – she’s amazing!), but since this will be my first I prefer to play it safe and get my body in the happiest, healthiest, most stable place it can be.

And if acquiring a baby isn’t a good enough reason, John and I will be moving into a house next month (gotta upgrade if we’re going to be growing the family!), my Personal Training business is set to take off any day now, and of course I still have a wedding to plan!

Yup, I knew 2012 would be an exciting year, just not in the way I thought it would be haha.  It’s amazing how quickly life can change, isn’t it?  And it’s about to get a whole lot better 🙂

PS.  Just wanted to send a quick shout-out to Aimee Brouillard who did a photoshoot with me and John back in November.  The pictures turned out great – thanks Aimee!

Next M&F cover??

Next M&F cover??
7 Responses to “Exciting Things”

  1. Karo February 11, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    so happy for you guys!! 2o12 will be one for the books indeed! xoxo

  2. melissa cunningham February 12, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    yeeeeeeeeeeee! i had a feeling that was the reason for no comps this year!
    thanks for the shout out btw!!!
    and yes,i totally dont recommend competing while preggers! its totally possible in the first trimester,but not the best idea,lol! prep is hard enough,but add in incubating a baby?? oy,soooooo not fun!
    😀
    anyways,im excited for you and you John,about the wedding,the new house and a soon to be growing family!
    good things are headed your way!!!!

    • Tess and Jess February 12, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      Thanks Melissa! Hopefully by this time in a couple years I’ll be a figure mom too (there really needs to be a word for women who have had kids and are competing).

      • Dawn February 13, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

        Tess – someone who lives around here has a kid and competes! Her name is Allison Ethier http://allisonethier.com/ I think her blog has entries and photos from after she had her little boy. She is also a model, and now a personal trainer and makes nutrition plans.

  3. getfitwithles February 12, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Yay!! 2012 is going to be a great year for you guys! More than happy for you both!! Can’t wait to see where you end up buying a house!!??

    • Tess and Jess February 12, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

      Thanks Les! We’re actually just renting, but we’ve already found a place and are moving in March 1st! We’ll have to have you and Dave over for dinner so you can see it 🙂

  4. v February 13, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    What a great pic! Found your blog using my google machine – love it! Can’t wait to try some of these recipes. I don’t post about food a lot on my blog (and, as your client probably shouldn’t admit that when I do it’s often about baking!) but I love reading food and fitness blogs, so am really excited to add yours to my reading list 🙂

Leave a Reply

