Try Avocado

13 Feb

First of all, I loved Jess’ post yesterday on sushi!  I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m seriously considering investing in a rolling mat and sticky rice after reading that.  Why did I always think it was so complicated?

After looking up some fun breakfast ideas for our most recent 1 Dish, 2 Spoons segment I came across two very cool uses for avocado.  Now, in Jess’ own words, she “knows her way around an avocado”, but I’ll bet even she hasn’t thought to use it in the following contexts:

1) Avocado and Egg Whites

Very simply, you boil some eggs, cut up the eggs whites (either discard or save the cooked yolks… for dog owners, this makes a great treat for your little buddies!) and mix them up with some cubed avocado.  I used 3 eggs and 1/2 avocado.  I then sprinkled it all with some S&P, and lightly drizzled it with olive oil.  Simple, quick, easy, and full of clean protein and healthy fats.  Eat it along with some toast for a complete breakfast, or alone as a snack.

2) Quinoa Avocado Breakfast Bowl

Again, very simple.  I had some quinoa leftover from dinner the night prior, and of course half an avocado remaining from the snack above.  Heat up your quinoa, slice the avocado, chop up some nuts of your choosing (I used almonds) and drizzle with honey.  Boom, you’ve got breakfast.  I wasn’t sure how I’d like this one, but the avocado has such a mild taste that it just ended up adding a cool texture to the otherwise sweet dish.

So, the next time you’re making home-made sushi, pick up an extra avocado and try these two great recipes.  Your heart will thank you 🙂

2 Responses to “Try Avocado”

  1. Tess and Jess February 13, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    (Jess)- Woman, are you trying to up me in avo department? :p Bring it! haha
    Looks awesome, will have to try the breakfast quinoa stat!

    • Dawn February 13, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      I LOVE avocado! I can never think of anything to do with it besides putting it in a salad or eating it in sushi (that I do not make myself…). Thank you!

Leave a Reply

