Cinnamon Heart Sugar Cookies

14 Feb

If you don’t know me personally, I realize you’re probably expecting some mushy and sentimental post in honour Valentine’s Day.  Sorry, but that’s just not going to happen. I’m not that kind of girl.

I don’t mean to sound like I’m the Grinch of Valentine’s Day… well, maybe I am. I do look good in green after all. Minus the hairy beard and everything.  Anyway, I’m not big on the day but I will admit this: I am a sucker for cinnamon hearts.  They are one of my favorite candies and I could (and usually do) eat them by the bucket load.

So what better way than for me to try and have something positive to say about February 14th than with a fun li’l cookie recipe inspired by this delectable confection? Using the sugar cookie recipe from my Christmas Cookie Sandwiches, subbing the chocolate for smashed cinnamon hearts seemed like the appropriate recipe.

Cinnamon Heart Sugar Cookies

1 c. butter, softened to room temperature

½ c. white sugar

½ c. brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

2 ¼ c. all purpose flour

¼ c. crushed cinnamon hearts

Icing:

¼ c. icing sugar

1-2 tbsp water

Drop of red food colouring

Preaheat oven to 350F

In a large bowl, beat flour and butter until fluffy, then beat in egg and vanilla.  In a separate bowl, combine flour, cinnamon, and baking powder.  Stir flour mixture into butter mixture then stir in cinnamon hearts.

Form dough into ½ inch balls and place onto baking sheets, 2 inches apart from each other.  Using a flat-bottomed glass, flatten the balls into rounds. You may need to dampen the glass slightly every few times.

Bake cookies, 1 sheet at a time, for 12-15 minutes or until the bottoms are slightly golden- watch carefully as sugar cookies tend to burn fast.

Remove the cookies from the oven and place on cooling rack.  Once the cookies of have cooled place them on a sheet of parchment paper.

Mix the icing sugar, water and food colouring and drizzle over the cookies.  Top with extra cinnamon hearts if desired.

Happy Valentine’s Day

-Jess

 

 

Leave a Reply

