When We Were Young: The Story of the Gold Boots

16 Feb

Recently, Dustin discovered my shoe closet.  And by discover I mean he pushed away my body blocking his path, thrust open the door to my poor excuse for a closet and realized just how many shoes I own.

We’re not going to discuss the purses and handbags, that’s a disease all its own.

The funny thing is, most of the shoes in my closet, like many items I covet, have a story to go with them.  Anecdotes, memories, and the “should I REALLY buy that 5th pair of black pumps”, immediately leap to my mind when I explore pairs I haven’t worn for a while.  The gold stiletto boots are no exception.

The year was 2008 and I had been living in Montreal for under a year, trying my damndest to keep a dead-end long distance relationship alive.  After many fights, tears, and butting heads, I was working at an event in Toronto when I received the call (on February 14th I might add).  We were over, done, kaput. He wanted nothing more to do with me, and my 21 year old self was devastated.

Still wondering why I hate Valentine’s Day?

Anyway, after a sniffling phone call to my Mom, who told me in no uncertain terms to get my ass in the shower, get dressed and enjoy the big fancy dinner I’d organized, I called Tess.   None of my friends were particularly shocked over the breakup, given that this was the 2nd year in a row that he’d dumped on Valentine’s Day.

My hatred for February 14th should be crystal clear to you, by now.

That weekend, Tess showed up to my parents house where I was staying and we went out for a day of shopping.  Retail therapy= the best kind of therapy.  After purchasing some new make-up, probably a new purse, and a few other non-essentials, we strolled into a shoe store and there they were.

Not at all the classically pretty and sophisticated style I go for with my heels, these were blatantly “sexy” (it was 2008 give me a break on style, please) totally impractical, and would have made Nancy Sinatra stop and say daaamn! I wanted them; no- I needed these boots.  So I bought them.

I may have only worn them maybe a handful of times, but every time I donned them, I felt my confidence go straight through the roof and any thoughts of my ex were of the F-U variety.  They were my bowl of Ben and Jerry’s and box of chocolates, without the calories and saturated fat.  They were a symbol of my new-found independence and really, I would never have bought them if Tess hadn’t been there to talk me into it.

That’s what friends are for, right?

-Jess

2 Responses to “When We Were Young: The Story of the Gold Boots”

  1. Tess and Jess February 16, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    (Tess) Hahahahaha. Yup, that’s EXACTLY what friends are for!

  2. Vicki February 17, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Those are some pretty sexy boots!!! Tess is an awesome friend and someone you can always count on.

Leave a Reply

