I Heart Montreal

4 Mar

Yesterday, I had a fabulous day with two of my best girls: Karo and Liz!

All of us had been busy with our respective lives these past few weeks, and our friendship had degenerated to Facebook, of all things. Don’t get me wrong I love social media and all, but Liz and I live 5 blocks away from each other for goodness sake!

Anyway, all that was in the past when we realized the three of us were *gasp* FREE on Saturday. Can you believe it?

So what does one do with two of your best girl friends on a rainy Saturday afternoon? We go and explore of course.

Liz and the "ghost" cheese

Shopping is so passé when you’re, you know, broke.

Karo and I began what we call our “cultural activities” a few years back when we first moved to Montreal as a way to get to know our new city. One of my favorite activities was when we visited the Andy Warhol exhibit at the Musée des Beaux Arts a couple of years ago. Did anyone get a chance to see it? Soooo worth it! Sadly, I haven’t been back to visit for quite some time, so it was great to go and revisit this lovely building on Sherbrooke St.

Karo thinks she's a crab.

Random fact: in addition to my BBA, I also completed a minor in Fine Arts.

Posed next to the meat. Irony.

Following our attempt to enrich our lives with culture, we did what any self-respecting girl would do: stuff our faces with amazing Mexican food!

Enter: Burritoville. A vegetarian Mexican restaurant. Are they for real?!

One of the best-looking menus I've seen in a while 😉

In case you weren’t able to tell by my obsession with all things guac and avocado, Mexican food is probably my all-time favorite cuisine.

I’m a super classy gal, I swear.

Salsa and salads galore!

Needless to say, I was once again jumping up and down like a 9 year old when presented the opportunity to order what-ev-er I wanted off the menu. It’s the little things in life, people.

Once again, how have I gone for nearly 5 years in this city without ever before experiencing Burritoville?! I think I need to get out more.

The system is pretty basic- they offer burritos (duh), quesadillas, tacos and bowls with a variety of fillings.  They’re also kosher with you customizing so feel free to veganize it, spice up your life, or just add in some more guac. They don’t judge. Awesome. You can order it solo, or opt-in for a combo or trio to add a side/drink of your choice.

Since I went to an ass-kicking yoga class that morning, I felt I had earned a “combo” and went with the sweet potato burrito with some chips and salsa verde. I asked for them to veganize my burrito, so they swapped the cheese for guac. I thought that was very nice of them.

I also got a Kombucha Passion Tea because apparently I’m the last person on the planet to discover these things and I’m now obsessed.

Sweet potato, black beans, and guac. I'm a happy girl.

This was divine. I already told Dustin that we need to go here, stat!

Following our lunch/dinner we met up with Karo’s boyfriend and her sister to hit up the Dix30 Sky Spa for some hot pool/sauna action under the stars.

How romantic of us.

I ❤ Montreal.

Jess

Leave a Reply

