Confessions of a Health Food Blogger

13 Mar

Read at your own risk.

1-      New obsession: Kale Smoothies! Why have I never tried these before?! I’m now drinking them daily out of my fabulous new travel cup with straw.  It’s pretty much the best thing ever

Best dollar store buy ever!

2-      I’ve only been tempted once or twice this week to add vodka as I head in to work. Kidding. Sort of.
Disclaimer- I do not endorse nor participate in drinking and driving

3-      I leave for Paris with my Mama in 2 DAYS!!! I’m not excited at all.

4-      I may or may not have planned out my wardrobe for the entire week. Like 3 weeks ago.  O-C-D.

5-      I haven’t done laundry in as many weeks. My mom is not surprised.

6-      I’ll be doing laundry tonight before my Mom shows up tomorrow.

7-      It’s a toss-up as to whether I’m more excited to eat and drink in Paris or to run through the streets of Paris.

8-      Who am I kidding- bring on the food, please.

9-      This video makes me want to go skiing so badly: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aeSbgy_MAfg

10-   I’ve had zero motivation to cook for myself the past few weeks and so many of my dinners have resembled variations of this:

Some bread and olives might be added in for good measure.

11-   Here’s the recipe for this über delicious roasted red pepper and white bean dip

Ingredients:

1 Red Bell pepper

1 medium sweet onion, thinly sliced

1 tsp olive oil

1 tsp sea salt

1 tbsp white wine vinegar

1 can white beans, drained and rinsed.

1 tbsp lemon juice

Directions:

Roast your red pepper until the skin is blackened.  Place in a bowl and cover with a plastic bag.  Once the pepper is cooled, scrape the skins off, rinse with water and then chop into thick pieces- removing the seeds.

While the red pepper is cooling, heat oil in a skillet over medium high heat and add in your onions.  Season with salt and sauté until softened.  Reduce heat to medium low and continue to cook until onions are nicely caramelized.

Combine pepper, onions, white beans, and lemon juice into a blender.  Pulse and scrape until a smooth consistency- you may need to add in a bit of water to get it to the thickness you want.

Taste and adjust seasonings, serve with sliced up bread and a crudité platter.

Jess

Leave a Reply

