Paris: Days 2 & 3

18 Mar

This weekend has been one of ups, downs and sore feet.

While I had every intention of going for a run Saturday morning, my body was having none of it.  We ended up going to bed at 9:30pm on Friday evening and didn’t get up until 9:30am on Saturday.  I think we were tired?

Rather than push myself, I decided to post-pone my run for another day and take it easy.  Saturday’s agenda included a trip the Marché aux Puces Flea market for which we had to brave the Metro.  For those of you unfamiliar with the Paris metro system, upon first glance it seems more than a little daunting. But I was  soon struck with how similar it was with the Montreal system, just on a larger scale with more lines.  Soon enough, I became more comfortable with it and we went on our way.

Sadly, Marché aux Puces was a bit of a bust.   It was dirty, cluttered and more than a little sketchy.  I managed to find one gem of a vintage record (I have a few framed at home already), but that was it.  If you’re a bargain hunter and enjoy a good scavenger hunt, by all means give this place a whirl. If you’re more of a passive browser, like me and my Mom, you may just want to take a pass on this one.

Fortunately, all was not lost that day, as we managed to head over to the Place de la Bastille as well.   This monument, the July Column, commemorates the events of the July Revolution in 1830.

All in all Saturday was not the greatest day, but we’re glad we got to experience all we did nonetheless.  Sunday, on the other hand, rang in bright with promise.  Having recovered from my jet-leg, I woke up bright and early and embarked on a 10k run along the Seine.

Move over Ottawa canal, this girl’s got a new favorite running spot!  Running along the Seine was such a great way to experience this part of the city- the architecture, the contrast from the buildings to the river, all beautiful.  So far, this has been my favorite experience.  One I will be repeating on Tuesday and Thursday, that’s for sure!

Following my run, we went on the world’s longest walk.  My feet are officially killing me.  We saw everything from the Notre Dame to the Eiffel Tour-Champs Eysee – L’arc de triomphe- Musee L’Orangerie and everything in between.  I kid you not, you name it- we probably saw it.  I’d give you a run down, but I’ll let the photos speak for themselves.

Tomorrow we take on the Louvre and maybe a few more sites.  We shall see.

Bonne nuit mes amis!

-Jess

2 Responses to “Paris: Days 2 & 3”

  1. Tenecia March 18, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Such beautiful pictures!

    T.

Leave a Reply

