Beast Mode

19 Mar

Every now and then we have to change gears and go into our own personal “beast mode”.  You know the one – it’s the mind-frame you go into when you’re totally focused on achieving a goal; it’s the pressure you feel when there’s a looming deadline and you can’t procrastinate anymore; it’s the last mile of the race.

For the past 6 weeks I’ve been eating pretty clean.  There’ve been small nibbles of things here and there (honey in my oatmeal, a couple chicken wings) and a cheat meal or two per week.  I’ve been changing up my routine in the gym to incorporate more cardio through circuit training, but I’ve still only been going 3 times per week.  So far, this approach has served me well;  I’m feeling great – very energetic, rested, and strong – and I’ve lost about 4lbs.  Pretty good!  I picked up my dress yesterday and it fits well, but it’s just a little snug.  My goal is to lose 5-7 more pounds by April 14th so that the dress will allow some eating room on the big day 😉

So, considering the wedding is in just 4 short weeks, I’m going into Beast Mode.  My close friends and family all know what this means – it’s the same mode I go into for competition training: perfect diet (no cheats), perfect gym attendance (no excuses), and lots of rest (= boring social life).  Total focus.

My plan this week is to start following the diet from my first show (1,250 calories = 164g protein, 84g carbs, 29g fat.  5L of water per day).  I’ll power walk every morning for 45 minutes, do a circuit style workout in the afternoon, followed by another 25 minute of HIIT cardio.  I’m hoping to lose 3 lbs.  I’ll keep you all posted on progress!

Oh, and here’s a sneak peak of wedding photos 😉

Veil is a plastic table cover, bouquet is a bunch of branches. My sister Kim helping me down the "aisle"

2 Responses to “Beast Mode”

  1. Tess and Jess March 19, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    (Jess)- Beast mode, huh? So I guess this means I shouldn’t bring you back that chocolate from Paris, then? 😉

    • Tess and Jess March 19, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      (Tess) No no, bring it! Lol It’ll be a perfect reward on the wedding day. And it should go very well with the bottle of champagne you got us 😉

Leave a Reply

