Paris: Day 4 & 5

20 Mar

Culture.

That would be the word to sum up days 4 and 5 in Paris.  These past few days, Mom and I have immersed ourselves in the Parisien culture as much as possible- from the sights, to the wine, to the food.  It’s been pretty awesome, actually.

Following our visit to the musée L’Orangerie on Sunday, we decided to put in our dues and pay a visit to the Louvre.   For those of you who have yet to experience Paris or the Louvre, I will forewarn you that it is an overwhelming one.  The Louvre is so damn big, it is next to impossible to visit everything and enjoy it at the same time.   Since Mom had never seen the Mona Lisa and all its underwhelming glory, we did make sure to put in a visit to that one. However, mark my words that when I return to Paris, the Louvre will most likely not be on my agenda.  It’s too big, and far too crowded.  The only upside was that I was able to see one of my favorite paintings: Gericault’s Raft of the Medusa.  Gruesome to be sure, but oh so beautifully and dramatically painted, I can’t help but enjoy it.

Following our visit to the Louvre, we decided to check out the Opera House. This was one of my favorite attractions when I visited Paris when I was 15 and it failed to disappoint me again.  This building literally takes my breath away in its ornate beauty; it truly is a must see if ever you plan a visit to Paris.

The start to day 5 was somewhat similar to day 3 where I kicked things off with  brisk run along the seine.  Pure heaven!

Following my morning exercise, we ventured on over to the musée D’Orsay.

This was the art museum I had been most looking forward to.  Impressionist and Post-Impressionist art is among my favorite with Cezanne, Degas, Van Gogh and Renoir being at the top of my list.   Though I have been to this museum before, I was more than happy to be able to experience it again.  Word to the wise: buy your tickets in advance as the “general visitor” line gets long, fast. When we visited the L’Orangerie on Sunday, we were given the opportunity to purchase a 2 for 1 pass granting us entrance to L’Orangerie and D’Orsay for 14.50 Euro to be used within 4 days.  This saved us, no joke, 1 hour of waiting in line for the D’Orsay as we were able to breeze through the “pre-purchased” ticket line within 5 minutes.

Following our visit to D’Orsay, we experienced the worst service at Le Solferino, a nearby café in the Quartier St-Germain.  I know I haven’t gone much into the food portion of my trip, this will come in a later post; for now, I will just say that I will never again visit this café and I would recommend you do the same.  After lunch, we strolled around St-German, which is a beautiful part of town with interesting boutiques, shops and home to the infamous Café Flore.

Some of this chocolate may have made its way home with me 😉

Overall, I cannot believe how much ground Mom and I have covered in just 5 days.  We literally have seen just about everything touristy there is to see in Paris.  I have loved every minute and I think Mom has too.  Plus the wine and cheese ain’t so bad either 😉

Tomorrow we make the trip to Versailles and all it over-the-top-gilded glory!

Bon soir mes amis!

-Jess

One Response to “Paris: Day 4 & 5”

  1. Tess and Jess March 21, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    (Tess) Wow, my heart skipped a beat when I saw the pictures of the Opera House. Then my stomach grumbled when I got to the pictures of the food 😛 Looks like you ladies are having quite the experience!

Leave a Reply

