Corn = A Grain?

28 Mar

Sorry for my absence lately, folks; I’ve been busy prepping for the wedding, working out, training clients, taking care of my boys, and *trying* to fit in a couple blog posts when I can.  Sadly, I’ll only be getting busier for the next 3 weeks, so please forgive and bear with me.

Speaking of working out, I’ve completed 1.5 weeks of my new German Body Composition Training and am LOVING it!  My toughest workout so far has been 3 exercises, 10 sets each – deadlifts, barbell curls, and skull crushers (or “lying tricep extension” for those of you who find the previous name disconcerting).  I’ll tell ya, I had an interesting walk out of the gym after all those deadlifts.

As I’m writing this, it occurs to me I have no topic in mind to post about.  I had hoped something would come to me, but it hasn’t.

Quick!  Do a Google search!

My first search is for Ancient Grains – I’ve been working on a post for quite some time now, where cook 7 different meals using a different ancient grain.  The idea is supposed to be “7 Grains, 7 Days”, but it looks more like 7 weeks now :S

Anyhow, upon my search I find a site listing all the grains – kamut, millet, quinoa, rice, corn…… wait, corn? Call me crazy, people, but I always counted corn as a vegetable!  Why on earth did I think that?  Do another Google search.  Oh, here’s why:

Maize, known in many English-speaking countries as corn or mielie/mealie, is a grain domesticated byindigenous peoples in Mesoamerica in prehistoric times. The leafy stalk produces ears which contain seeds called kernels. Though technically a grain, maize kernels are used in cooking as a vegetable or starch.

It seems so perfectly obvious now that I think about it.  Huh.  Well, I learned something new tonight thanks to this blog, which always makes me look for new ideas and information.  I hope you learned something as well 🙂

-Tess

2 Responses to “Corn = A Grain?”

  1. A Fine Balance March 28, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    Hope things are well. I miss not running into you at the gym!

    • Tess and Jess March 29, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

      (Tess) Me too! You still competing this spring?

Leave a Reply

