Hello Asparagus!

3 Apr

Sorry for my absence over the past week- getting caught up at work post-vacation and helping plan Tess’ bachelorette party, not to mention training, took up nearly all of my free time! I promise to be more diligent from now on- thanks for bearing with us!

Spring is in the air, which of course means spring vegetables!

Gotta love the way my mind works.

As the days get longer, and the evenings warmer, you’re really not going to find too many “cooked” dishes going on in my kitchen.  More often than not, my dinners turn into elaborate salads composed of piles of veggies, greens and either some guac or hummus on the side. I would apologize for the monotony, but honestly, I could care less what you think because salads for dinner rock.

Tess, I know you got my back on this one!

When I popped into my grocery store on my way home from work yesterday, I was very excited to see the first showings of spring:

Yes, fresh asparagus means “spring” to me.  I quickly grabbed a bunch and hurried on my way home, eager to serve these up.

Now, I know this kind contradicts what I just said about cooking in the Spring time, but I added them to a salad so just go with it.

One of my favorite ways to enjoy asparagus is really quite simple and requires very little prep and cooking time- perfect for you weekday 9-5ers.

The main thing to remember with asparagus is to remove the wood-y stems by simply bending the asparagus spear near the end until it naturally snaps off. Then add the asparagus to boiling water for 1-2 minutes until it turns a bright green then drain and run under cold water to stop cooking.  Now all you gotta do is sauté it up with some balsamic vinegar, olive oil and chopped garlic and you my friends have got one kick-ass side dish.

Balsamic-Garlic Asparagus

1 lb asparagus spears

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Directions

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Remove the stems from the asparagus spears and add into boiling water.  Cook for 1-2 minutes or until spears turn bright green.  Drain and rinse under cold water to stop cooking.  In the same pan, heat olive oil over medium high heat, add in garlic and sauté for 30 seconds or until fragrant.  Add asparagus spears and balsamic vinegar and cook for another 2 minutes.  Remove from heat and serve.

This makes a great side dish for fish, veggie burgers or a tasty topper for a salad.

Bon Appétit!

Jess

 

Leave a Reply

