1 Dish, 2 Spoons: Salad Bar

9 Apr

Last weekend for Tess’ bachelorette the gang had a pot-luck salad bar dinner, where every guest brought one item. What a fun way to have a dinner! Everybody brought something different and we ended up with a well-rounded list of ingredients to work with:

Spinach, kale, broccoli, carrots, tomatoes, celery, feta cheese, cheddar cheese, croutons, chicken, sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, and quinoa.

Tess’ Take

I can be a little picky about my salads. First, they need multiple colors, and protein. I tend to avoid carbs in salads (never been much for croutons). I also like to minimize calorie-dense ingredients such as cheese, dried fruit, and candied nuts as they can add up quickly, and for me, salads should be light. Oh, and no dressings above 45 calories per tbs. Now, I do stray from these “rules” from time to time, but that night I was feeling stubborn, so this is what I ended up with.

Spinach, kale, celery, tomatoes, carrots, chicken, sunflower seeds.

Not pictured is my balsamic vinaigrette. Thanks again girls for the yummy dinner and fun night!

-Tess

Jess’ Take

So… Yeah this was supposed to go up yesterday, but I was a tad busy making these

20120407-124716.jpg

Don’t worry a post on these babies is forthcoming.

In the mean time, I’ll tell you about the delicious salad I was able to enjoy last weekend. As you can imagine, I started off with massages kale which I then topped with a plethora of veggies including: avocado, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, carrots and chickpeas; topped off with sunflower seeds, croutons, feta cheese, and Kelly’s delicious maple balsamic dressing.

As you can see it, we had some fabulous salads for an equally fabulous evening!

Now, Dustin and I are on the GO train headed to Oakville for Easter dinner. I hope you all have a great rest of your weekend!

Happy Easter!
Jess

Leave a Reply

