April 14, 2012

15 Apr

On Saturday, April 14, 2012 one of my best friends, my co-blogger, and sister, Tess, married the love of her life, John, in a beautiful and intimate ceremony witnessed by her closest friends and family. This post is for them.
~Jess

I’d like to say thank you to Tess and John for allowing me to be a part of their day.  The journey you have taken to get to this point has been special and beautiful and I consider myself lucky to have borne witness to it.

After today, you embark on a new fork in the road and I wish you both happiness and good health for this long journey ahead.

I’ll never forget the day when I met Tess. It was our second year of university and for some reason we both felt it would be a great idea to take a class entitled “Le Theatre du Quebec 1885 to 1985”.  I’m sure it’s no surprise to you all when I say that meeting Tess was the only good thing about that class.

Pre-wedding run.

As time went on we got to know each other, and our group of friends quickly formed into what it is today- a tight-knit group of people that really, is more of a family than friends.

BU Family: Caitlin, Tanya, Jess, Mike, Tess, John, Dan, Liz, Karo

We laugh, we bicker, we push and encourage one another.  Nothing could be a more accurate description for mine and Tess’ friendship.  Even John has remarked that we act more like sisters than friends.  Looking at Tess’ beautiful family today, I can only assume it’s because she’s had so much practice with it.

Grisé girls!
From left: Jaclyn, Tess, Julia, Emily, Kim and Rachel

Within a few weeks of knowing each other in that horrible class, we instinctively knew we’d make for great roommates, and decided to move in together the following year.

See John?  You’re not the only who moves fast when they recognize a good thing!

Tess has always been the sunny and positive one in our group, never one to waste time being grumpy or in a bad mood- that was always left to me before coffee in the morning.  Her positivity and happy disposition is one that just draws you in- who can resist such a person?

Lucky for Tess, John couldn’t either.

When Tess first told me about John it was hard not to notice the excitement and sheer happiness in her voice.  Obviously, there was something special about this one.

Within 5 minutes of meeting him, I immediately understood why.  John’s easy going and fun loving nature beautifully compliments Tess’ energetic and quirky disposition.  Watching you two fall in love has been a wonderful site.  I consider myself blessed and lucky to have been a bystander of it all.  I wish you nothing but happiness and fulfillment in your marriage.

As you know, it is on this blog where Tess and I try to lead by example to show our readers what it means to lead a healthy and happy lifestyle.  We like to share tips and tricks on exercising, and healthy eating.  While I like to believe I’ve gotten to be pretty good at giving this sort of advice, I know that today, no advice needs to be given to these two.

Mrs. Grisé was in agreement that Tess had indeed chosen the man of her dreams

Lovely sister (in-law) Stephanie, also imparted some words of wisdom to the couple

I know that they will love and respect each other in only the way that two people who love as deeply as Tess and John do.

Tess and John's first dance

As we’ve mentioned before, Tess and I met at Bishop’s Univeristy.  Bishop’s is a school that that prides itself on strong academics as well as a –er strong social life.  We are also a school that prides itself on tradition.  At every Bishop’s event be it a football game, or a special alum gathering, the school song will traditionally be sung.  While I know that John didn’t attend Bishop’s, I’m pretty sure he was “Christened” after attending homecoming last fall.

So in honour of this special union, I’d like to present a re-mixed version of the song for the bride and groom.

Raise a toast to Theresa and John

On the mighty Ottawa Canal

They’re conditioned to their fate

They will never separate

They will be together forever more

Married days will linger ever in their hearts

Having kids, growing old and bickering

And we’ll show esprit de corps as we watch Zuhri Roar

On to victory

So raise your wine glass or your little shot glass

To Theresa and John!

-Jess

2 Responses to “April 14, 2012”

  1. getfitwithles April 16, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    Beautiful post/speech Jess! You took some wonderful photos!! What an amazing wedding! So happy I could be there to experience the marriage of such an incredible couple, I love seeing how in love they are!!! Hope you enjoyed the wedding as much as Dave and I did!

    • Tess and Jess April 17, 2012 at 9:04 am #

      Thanks Leslie! I agree, it was a beautiful wedding for an equally beautiful couple 🙂

Leave a Reply

