10 Things To Do this Long Weekend

17 May

Long weekends are pretty much the best thing ever, in my humble opinion.  Having that extra day off just makes the world seem like a happier place.  Unless of course your job requires you to work on weekends and/or the long weekend, then it seems like your own personal hell…

…  Awkward.

But, since I have the long weekend off and it will be my first day off in close to 12 days, I feel slightly entitled to be happy.

To me, long weekends are meant to be a time spent outdoors as much as possible, especially if there’s no rain.  It’s May, people.  We’ve been cooped up indoors for the past 6 months, let’s get out and enjoy the sunshine, shall we?

So with that in mind, here are my top 10 favorite things to do on the long weekend.

1)      Go running.  Oh yeah, I’m sure that one shocked you guys.  As you’ll remember, I have 2 more races coming up in the next couple of weeks so I’m still training my little heart out.  I’ll probably do my best to get out and run at least twice this weekend, but no more than 10-12 km each.

2)      Go to the cottage: I’m blessed to have a family cottage just over an hour’s drive from Montreal. Over the 5 years I’ve spent in this city, the cottage has become a personal retreat of sorts.  Even if I go up just for the day, just being there allows me to decompress and recharge.  So looking forward to that.

3)      BBQ- If there are two words that go hand in hand it would be: “long weekend” and “BBQ”.  Yes, I know that’s technically three words. Just go with it, please.  So dust off that patio set and invite your friends over for some good ol’ fashioned BBQ.  For the veggie in your group, can I recommend Portobello Mushroom burgers?

4)      Read- My schedule has been INSANE these past few months weeks and it’s sadly cut into my reading.  I’m an avid reader who loves cozying up to a good book and I hope to catch up on some of that this weekend.  My picks for the weekend:

5)      Catch-up with friends and family: I get it, we’re all busy and we all have things to do but sometimes it’s nice to just chill out and catch up with some friends over a cup of tea or a cocktail. Whichever your preference.

Love this pic of my parents. Note- the BBQ in the background.

6)      Cook- similar to bbq’ing but relegated to the kitchen, I love catching up on developing new recipes for you guys on my weekends.  This is when the natural light comes in handy for photography purposes and hopefully I can do a bit of that this weekend.  Keep on the lookout for a fun new recipe this Sunday as an FYI.

7)      Beer- after a long, hard week, chilling out on the deck in the country with an ice cold beer is pure heavenly bliss. Try and tell me otherwise. I dare you.

8)      Explore a different part of your city: for all you Stay-cationers out there, look at the long weekend as an opportunity to explore a new (to you) area of your city.  Go to that museum or art gallery exhibit you’ve been meaning to check out.  Make reservations at that funky new restaurant that just opened.  Do something new and different to make your stay-cation feel like an escape.

9)      Camping: believe it or not, I grew up loving camping; I even spent a summer as a camp counselor back in high school.  Sitting around a campfire roasting marshmallows, going on hikes, sleeping in the fresh outdoor air, so much fun.   I also discovered how much fun camping can be in your mid-20s with a group of 20 other people, last summer.  So grab that scarred tent and worn out sleeping bag, ditch the make-up and gather up your friends for a weekend of memories you’d sooner forget than remember. #advil

Frisbee and beer pong (not) optional

10)   Sleep- I’ve been averaging between 5-6 hours of sleep per night for the past… I don’t remember for how long.  Sleep is on the agenda this weekend.

Jess

What will you do this long weekend?

Leave a Reply

