Confessions of a Gym Rat

18 May

You may remember me challenging myself to 2 weeks of consistent yoga.  Well, I have a confession: I’ve been cheating on yoga with the weight room.  I can’t say I didn’t see it coming.  Who am I kidding?  I’m a gym junkie, and I wasn’t ready to give up my substance of choice.

Actually, I think it was the yoga that drove me back to the gym.  You see, last week when I went to my friend Leslie’s yoga class it was being held in her studio/gym.  Something about the smell of sweat and all those shiny dumbbells must’ve triggered my addiction.  Yes, I blame it squarely on the yoga!

Even though I still don’t have any clear goals for my strength training sessions, it’s been nice to just be back “home”; my lifestyle, my vision, and even my body all seem to make more sense when I training.  So here’s my tip for the day: any activity is good activity.  Who care if you skipped your run and went for a bike ride instead?  Why does it matter if you prefer to be in a weight room with 30 stinky men instead of outside hiking?  As long as you’re doing SOMETHING, then that’s really all any of us can (and should) ask of ourselves.

Happy training everybody!

-Tess

4 Responses to “Confessions of a Gym Rat”

  1. getfitwithles May 19, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Love that you love the smell of the weights and sweat too 😉 Great post! We need to workout together sometime, maybe go for a run!?

    • Tess and Jess May 19, 2012 at 10:29 am #

      (Tess) Hahaha it’s the smell of GLORY! Yes, definitely should work out together. We’ve never done that…. why?

      • getfitwithles May 20, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

        Not sure actually! Maybe we were always too busy to do it before…let’s plan a workout asap…perhaps a leg day together??

      • Tess and Jess May 22, 2012 at 11:50 am #

        (Tess) Oh geez, something tells me a leg day with you is going to be brutal!!! Let’s do it 😀

Leave a Reply

