Book Review: Metabolic Typing Diet

23 May

A couple weeks ago I met with a respected trainer, Predrag Stojnic, about nutrition for fitness competitors.  The two hours I spent with him were incredibly helpful; I could have sat and picked his brains all day but Mr. Stojnic is a busy man!  I asked him instead to refer any good books that he’d read so that I could learn more about the concepts he was telling me about.

The #1 book he recommended to me was a book called The Metabolic Typing Diet.  I bought it as soon as our meeting was over and have been reading ever since.  I’m not even halfway through and already it seems like everything I thought I knew about dieting has been turned up-side down.

In a nutshell, the authors show us that every person is different both on the outside, and on the inside –  just as two people do not have the same fingerprints, nor do they have the same metabolisms.  Why, therefore, have we all be led to believe that there is one universally right way of feeding ourselves?  We are a species that has come to cover the globe – we have people in the Northwest Territories eating whale blubber, people in Asian living on rice, and people in warm climates consuming mostly plants.  And they’re all thriving!  The truth is, the quick-and-dirty rules that the government and media have given us (through the Food Pyramid and fad diet books) do not fit every body and every metabolism.  Case in point: obesity and chronic illness are still on the rise!  So instead of trying to make our bodies to adapt to what other people have told us is “right”, we should instead be listening to our own bodies to figure out what our individual needs are.  The book goes on to explain how one may come to find which foods are best for one’s metabolism, even giving a condensed self-quiz to help figure it out.

All the information seems to make sense to me.  I’d love to hear what you all have to say about the book!

-Tess

2 Responses to “Book Review: Metabolic Typing Diet”

  1. Tess and Jess May 24, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    (Jess)- Sounds like a great read. I may be stealing this from you at some point 😉

Leave a Reply

