I’m Pregnant!!!!

27 May

I’ve been waiting weeks… WEEKS… to finally be able to announce that John and I are expecting our first child. 

We found out the day we left for our honeymoon that I was expecting.  I had been experiencing some pregnancy-like symptoms the entire weekend of our wedding, so I finally decided to take a test.  Though I knew what the result would be before I even saw it.  Have any of you moms ever had that overwhelming feeling, and you just KNOW you’re pregnant?  Needless to say, it was a very exciting week all around, between the wedding, the honeymoon, and the news of the baby.

I was about 6 weeks along at that point and we decided to wait to tell everybody until the 12 week mark.  For anybody who doesn’t know, the first 12 weeks (aka. the first trimester) is when you’re at the highest risk for miscarriage. 

So today I’m at 12 weeks, and our official due date is December 12th, 2012 (or 12/12/12).  We’ve already had an ultrasound and the baby looked to be healthy at that point with a strong heart beat.  I can’t even tell you how exciting it was to see our little one on the monitor, wiggling around.  I could actually SEE its heart beating…. miracle indeed 🙂  (I have a picture that I’ll post in a couple days… it’s a PDF and I’m still trying to figure out how to upload it lol)

Mommy is healthy too.  I’ve only gained about 3-4lbs since the wedding, though I had also dieted down for the event.  The doctor has given me the green light to keep on exercising as I usually do, though I did experience some significant drops in energy for a few weeks after the wedding (fyi, that’s why I was slacking at the gym!!) and certaom ab exercises are too painful/awkward to do, even this early on.  Good thing I have a big repertoire of exercises to draw from 😉  But, my energy levels are back up again thanks to 9+ hours of sleep per night, I’m not feeling nauseous anymore, and with all this beautiful weather I’m ready to be ACTIVE again!! 

10 weeks – not much to show just yet

No major food cravings at this point (I’m not actually sure when they’re “supposed to” start), but I will say that salty food is especially appealing, with my interest in sweets rapidly decreasing – a complete reversal of my usual food behaviour. 

That’s about all the info I have at this point.  We don’t know the sex yet – those tests can only be done around the 20 week mark – though I’m willing to bet money that it’s a girl.  Just a feeling. 

A final quick but BIG congratulations to Jess as well as our friends Mike and Murray for competing in the Ottawa Race Weekend, who all set new PB’s this weekend.  Jess will fill you in more thoroughly in a later post 😉

-Tess

4 Responses to “I’m Pregnant!!!!”

  1. Tenecia May 27, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    T.

    • Tess and Jess May 28, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      (Tess) Thanks Tenicia! I have to say though, I’m already looking forward to getting into competition shape again lol. I want to be one of those women people look at on-stage and say “SHE had a BABY?”…. just like you!

  2. melissa cunningham May 28, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    CONGRATS!!!!!
    i *knew* this post was coming up fast!!!!!!
    heres to a happy healthy pregnancy for mommy and baby!!!!

    😀

    😀

  3. A Fine Balance May 28, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    Tess this I so great! Congrats. I can’t wait to see updates as you post! Ps dec 12 is my dads birthday so exciting! A saggitarius baby!

Leave a Reply

