Structure and Balance

5 Jun

Today I went for my first run in…..?  Actually, I haven’t trained cardio at all since……?  Let’s just say it was long overdue.  Whether it’s the cause or effect, my resting heart rate since I’ve been pregnant has increased by about 6bpm, which may not seem like much but it means I get winded very easily lately.  But again, whether that’s the effect of not training cardio in so long, or the cause of my not wanting to do so… that’s open to debate.

After 45 minutes of broken jogging, what I realized today was that I need to start incorporating more vigorous cardio into my weekly routine.  I don’t mean 400 meter sprints or 10k runs – I just mean something more “challenging” than a leisurely stroll with the dog.  I also realized, as I stretched my stiff back and legs, that I need to put more emphasis on flexibility training.  I’ve been doing about 5-10 minutes 3x per week, but my body made it very obvious today that that has been insufficient.  In short, my workouts have been unbalanced – I sometimes work out 3 days in a row, and sometimes take 5 days off.  Everything is weight lifting with no attention paid to the other 2 points of the fitness pyramid.  As a result, my body feels unbalanced – stiff, sore, and tired.  Ok, maybe PART of that has to do with the pregnancy, but I try not to be someone who makes excuses!

My workouts for the past 9 weeks have been very unstructured – no clear goals to guide me, or schedule to follow.  And if there’s one thing I’ve learned about myself over these short 27 years is that I thrive on structure, habit, and planning.  So, paired with my “aha” moments of earlier today, I’ve finally been inspired to change my workout routine, and have a clear vision of what I want accomplish, especially now that I’m getting the hang of this whole “other person invading my body” thing.

New schedule: 30-45 minutes of light cardio 2x per week; full-body strength training 3x per week; yoga 1x per week; 15 minutes stretching every morning.

My goal isn’t to fight the process of pregnancy – I’ve already accepted that my body fat must increase, my energy must drop, and my belly will swell.  My goal is to make the transition as smooth and comfortable as possible for myself, and thus the baby.  A healthy heart is a happy heart, and one that will withstand the vigor of labour.  A flexible, supple spine will bend to accommodate the shift of weight to my front.  And of course a strong muscled physique will make carrying my bigger self around much easier! lol

Sorry if this sounded a bit like a journal y’all (<—- you know you’re married to an American when…).  I’ll post something a little more “tips and tricks” later this week 😛

-Tess

4 Responses to “Structure and Balance”

  1. v June 5, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    Um, get out of my head! Aside from the pregnan part, this totally describes my last week. I spent so long following a schedule training to my first 10 km run, and now that its over and I have nothing to target, it’s like working out has fallen three steps down my priority list. To be fair, I am a little distracted by moving cities, and the weather has sucked for outdoor activities, but still, I think I need to follow your example and set a schedule otherwise I’m going to loose all my endurance and strength gains of the past couple of months. One vicotory: did go to yoga twice last week! Thx for sharing and glad to baby invasion going well!

  2. melissa cunningham June 6, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Heeheee!! you totally sound like me here!
    great poa,the yoga will really help! and if you have access to a pool,that will really be beneficial,especially towards the end of the pregnancy!
    excited for you!!!!

    • Tess and Jess June 7, 2012 at 8:01 am #

      Oooh I hadn’t thought of the pool…. thanks!

Leave a Reply

