Now THAT’S Dedication!

9 Jun

Now here is a woman on a mission.  One of our dearest university friends, Samantha Warshick, has recently jumped on the fitness bandwagon (Score!  Another one turned!) and when she told me about her incredible results, I knew her story had to be shared here.  There is NOTHING your body can’t do with some hard work, and a good attitude, and Sam is a real life example of that.

Also, be on the lookout for her new blog: High Heels in Halifax where she explores everything the city of Halifax has to offer.

*****************************************************************

Making use of full-body movements

When Tess asked me to do a guest blog post I was thrilled and flattered. Last Friday I got some amazing news from my trainer. Tess was the first person (other than my boyfriend who is also a trainer) I told. Tess has been such an encouraging and motivating friend when it has come to my fitness struggles (and successes) and now I want to share it all with you.

So, now to get to the background of how fitness has been a part of my life: growing up I was lucky enough to have parents that encouraged me to try any and every sport. I played volleyball, ran in track, played field hockey, was a cheerleader and danced all year around. There was one sport which stole my heart at a young age and that was soccer. I played soccer since I was in grade two, and as I got older I was able to make it my number one priority playing for my schools, in a winter, spring and summer league as well I was a referee and coached soccer from grade nine until my last year of University. Since I was averaging 2-4 hours of physical activity a day I could actually eat anything I wanted and would not put on a pound.

This all changed in the grade twelve. Weighing 115 pounds and being in the best shape of my life (as now I had also discovered the weight room in my high school) it was a shock to my system this all had to stop.  After a summer on crutches (in a lot of pain) and a lot of physiotherapy I was told I had torn my ACL.  I actually felt as if my life was over.  It was a few months later that I left for Bishop’s (where I met Tess and Jess) and participated in a few beverages and tasty poutine’s. I was not allowed to run or play sports, and let’s be serious what Frosh wants to spend time in the gym when they could spend time at the bar. So, needless to say I put on a few Freshmen pounds.

It was in second year where things went really downhill. I barley set foot in the gym, and I had lost all muscle tone. Something had to change. That summer I played soccer again, and went to the gym but I did not push myself and I still ate a lot of food that don’t fit on the Canadian food guide. In third year I joined the cheerleading team, I was teaching dance twice a week and actually going to the gym. That summer I started working three jobs and made sure to find time to hit the gym even for half an hour a day. I lost about 5-8 pounds and felt great.

Fast forward two years, I was in my PR program after Bishop’s. We had a set schedule each day so it was easy to pencil in a time to go to the gym. I continued to get back in shape but I was still not pushing myself to my full potential. That is my weakness. When I go to the gym alone I tend not to push myself, I’ll go on the bike- with no resistance, I’d do the circuit- with all machine set at 15 pounds. Not to mention I ate sushi once a week, and drank a lot of coffee, and was addicted to bagels.

Fast forward again, last spring I was planning a trip to Bermuda and knew I could not lay on a beach for seven days unless I got in shape. So I quickly called Tess and she helped me create a great meal plan. The main things I took away from this was to eat like a King at breakfast (biggest meal of the day) a Queen at lunch and a Pauper at dinner (smallest meal of the day). I also eliminated dairy for the next three months until my trip and I felt amazing. I lost 8 pound, was working out every day and fit back into my summer wear for my trip.

I am a carb-aholic, so directly after that trip I thought ‘Wow, I have lost so much weight, of course I can eat whatever I want now’. Boy, was I wrong. April 12, 2012 was the day that I decided to really take control of my body and to make sure I am treating it right, and fueling it right.  I am now 25, and with a family history of diabetes and cancer I knew it was time for me to take charge of my health.

On April 12, I registered with a personal trainer at Good Life. (Yes, it is expensive…but it is worth every penny). I started seeing her five times a week as I was training for my first 10km race, unfortunately a week and a half before the race I injured my knee and could not participate. Now, the old Sam would have stop and taken two months off. This time I didn’t my trainer was able to adapt my sessions and gave me more rest days to make sure I would not lose everything I had worked so hard to do. In addition to training with her, I also trained 1-2 times a week on my own; I would do Yoga, go to a Boot Camp, or take a class at the gym. Now my muscles were getting the attention and training they needed so it was time to focus on what I was putting into my body.

Work that core

I started with Tess’ advice to have a protein, veggie and healthy fat in each meal and to change my regular carbs to complex carbs. I also focused on increasing the amount of water I drink each day and made sure to make all of my own meals (this way you know exactly what is in them). Making my own meals has been a struggle and a success. The struggle has been because of my career I travel a lot, and I go out for a lot of lunch meetings (French fries always call my name over the garden salad) the success was that I found out I am allergic to the protein in dairy (which seems to be in everything) so making my own food ensures I won’t get sick.

I just had my six week check in with my trainer and was floored at the results. I can honestly say I have set new goals, and am more motivated than ever to keep working out. I am eight pounds away from the weight I was when I started University, I know how to work muscles I didn’t know existed before, and I am more confident in the gym. I work out three days a week at 7 a.m. with a trainer, two days a week at 7 a.m. on my own, and I work out once during the weekend with one day off. I most recently have started doing two-a-days, working out in the morning before work, and after work, and just once a day on weekends (this Saturday I am going to a Boot Camp). I also started to increase my protein by having protein shakes directly after my workouts.

I want to share with you the success I have in hopes that this may motivate some of you to keep at it, get a trainer, and make some better healthier food choices. By getting a trainer, you are responsible to show up (or you have just wasted money), by adding in your own work outs you are making sure to no un-do what you have worked so hard for, and by recording what you eat you can really see what goes into your mouth and body.

Starting:                                                 Six Week Check In:

Body Fat %: 31.6%                             Body Fat %: 20%

BMI: 23.2                                               BMI: 20.4

Chest: 36 inches                                  Chest: 34.5 inches

Waist: 29.5 inches                             Waist: 29.5 inches

Hips: 41 inches                                    Hips: 38.7 inches

Arms: 11.5 inches                               Arms: 10 inches

Thighs: 23.5 inches                            Thighs: 18.5 inches

Weight : ***                                            Weight:  11 pounds lost

***You never ask a lady their age or weight. So my starting weight will remain a mystery to you all.

Check out those triceps!

I was what I considered skinny fat. I certainly was not obese but I needed toning and more exercise. I feel great, I feel confident, and I am excited to wear shorts this summer for my first time since first year university!

I plan to continue with my trainer, and to watch what I eat, only have alcohol for special occasions and put my focus on loosing another 8 pounds, and putting on more lean muscle. I hope at my next six week check in I will have arms like Kelly Ripa, and that I will be telling Tess that I am going to register for my first fitness competition.

Sam was also kind enough to share one of her favourite delicious and nutritious smoothies:

Ingredients
1.5 scoops of Vanilla Protein Powder
1 Banana
1 handful frozen strawberries
1/2 cup-1 cup of plain almond milk
Directions
Blend, serve, and slurp every drop!

Save me one!

Congratulations again Sam, you’re an inspiration!

-Tess (and Samantha)

One Response to “Now THAT’S Dedication!”

  1. Claire June 9, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    So great to have an update from Sam! Keep up the great work !!

Leave a Reply

