Picnic in the Park

19 Jun

Is anyone else excited to be outside in the sunshine? Like most people out east, I got to enjoy the splendors of mid-June weather this past weekend.

What’s even better is I managed to squeeze in two sweaty runs on Saturday and Sunday. Gotta love that feeling of accomplishment.  I’m going to lie, in all the craziness that has ensued over the past few weeks, from races, to work trips, to visiting Dustin, it’s all been a bit of whirlwind and a blur.

So I was so excited to be able to spend a pleasant and relaxing Sunday afternoon in the park with Liz.

Attempt 5 to successfully toss a tomato into her mouth

We decided that I’d bring the snacks and Liz would provide the booze drinks.

She actually whipped up delightful punch featuring orange flavoured rum, Malibu, cranberry and grape juice. Don’t worry; we didn’t imbibe too much 😉

Frozen container of spaghetti sauce (instead of ice) is not necessary

On the snack front, as my kitchen was looking a little sparse, I only managed to dredge up some grape tomatoes and salsa verde occupying my fridge.  I then made a beeline to the supermarket for some hummus and Tostitos, and then I obviously headed over to the Juicy Lotus so Liz and I could indulge on some prime vegan delicacies.

(left) stuffed vine leaves; (right) avocado salad

Since Liz had never had them before, I got their delightfully spicy stuffed vine leaves, as well as an avocado and spinach salad.   Truth be told, the salad makes for a fantastic dip and for an even better dressing that I dumped onto a kale salad and topped with mangoes later on.

Needless to say, it was a fun afternoon spent in the park and we both left feeling relaxed and totally well fed. 😉

-Jess

What did you do this weekend?

Leave a comment